Memory Upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by essuk88, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. essuk88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys, i needed to replace one of the 2GB sticks for my 2008 iMac, after looking up the specs for the RAM, i noticed the following was on sale in a local store and they looked the same so i thought i'd buy it and try it!

    http://shockmonkey.ecrater.co.uk/p/16419316/elpida-2gb-2rx8-pc2-6400s-666

    However, when i install it my mac just has a blacks screen and beeps.. is this incompatible?!
     
  2. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #2
    How many beeps? No matter the number, probably incompatible.
     
  3. essuk88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #3
    I didn't wait to see, just turned it off, took the new RAM out and it worked fine!

    Should i see how many times it beeps??

    The profile of my RAM is DDR2 PC2-6400, DDR2 (non-ECC)

    And the one i bought is... DDR2 SODIMM PC2-6400 800MHz Laptop Memory

    So i gathered they would be the same?!
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    3 beeps is RAM problem.

    What was wrong with the old one, didn't the iMac startup, if so you might have a bigger problem like a faulty RAM slot, now, I don't know how many RAM slots the iMac has but if it's more than one try in the other slot.

    The RAM is as specified so it should work, but Apple's HW was/is quite picky, so it might not work.

    ----------

    There is more to it, I am not specialised but I do know that the CL also matters.(I think)
     
  5. essuk88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #5
    I think my old RAM just died tbh! I have two slots, and whichever slot i put my current RAM in, the computer works and starts up fine!

    But as soon as i put this new one in, it won't start up and beeps! So it does seem to be the problem!

    CL?! Sorry not much of a specialist my self either haha!
     
  6. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
    If I were you I would check crucial, they guarantee their RAM to work in Macs, as I said before, Macs are fairly picky, even though everything matches it still could not work.
    I think this is your Mac on Crucial Europe, expensive but you can check the RAM specs there, check if this is the right model.

    http://www.crucial.com/eu/store/listparts.aspx?model=iMac%202.4GHz%20Intel%20Core%202%20Duo%20(20-inch%20-%20800MHz)%20MB323LL%2FA&Cat=RAM
     

Share This Page