Memory Upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cbrain, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I am thinking of upgrading the RAM in my iMac. Currently I have 1GB (2x 512MB) but I'm thinking of getting a 2GB upgrade from Crucial.

    What are your experiences with Crucial?

    Does it void my Macs warranty if I install Memory from other providers?

    How easy is memory to install?

    Thanks.
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    What model iMac do you have?

    I bought 2 GB RAM for my MacBook from Crucial, and I have been very happy. Although Crucial has been known to charge different prices for the identical RAM, depending on the computer you choose. ...When I bought my RAM, I bought RAM listed for a intel iMac because it was cheaper than the RAM listed for my MacBook.

    And yes, it's fairly easy to install RAM. In intel iMacs, you just take out a couple screws, pop the old stuff out, and pop the new stuff in (granted, this can be a bit nerve-wrecking if you're not familiar with the procedure).

    It will not void your warranty, but any damage you cause while the computer is open may not be covered.
     
  3. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #3
    Hi. What iMac is it? Crucial have an offer on at the moment for 4GB Ram very cheap. Crucial are fantastic and their Ram is one of the best available.
     
  4. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #4
    Hi,

    I have an Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16 GHz iMac.

    Thanks.
     
  5. nosey313 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #5
    I just bought a 4GB Crucial upgrade kit. I got it for around $100. Took me 5 minutes to install. Can't believe how cheap RAM is nowadays.
     
  6. derekjd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #6
    take a look at newegg.com

    I went from 1gig to 2 with some ram I bought at Best Buy on sale, was pretty much generic stuff and it worked great... Then due to some video work I've been doing I picked up a 2gig stick on newegg.com for dirt cheap and it works wonders.... Granted I have a white 2.16 20" so I can only take mine up to 3 gig, but with some looking around you can find some bang up deals.... Still thinking of selling my iMac for a MacPro Quad for video work tho, I could've never imagined getting into video on a PC and now with a Mac I found a really fun past time....

    derekjd
     
  7. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #7
    Hi,

    I'm going to be upgrading to 2GB, should I buy one 2GB module or Crucial's kit that contains 2x1GB?

    Thanks.
     
  8. derekjd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #8
    cheaper prices


    Do yourself a favor, in my white iMac I have a 2gig Transcend stick

    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16820208341

    which goes for $37.... If you have an Alu iMac just get 2 of these and max out for a little bit more then what you spend at crucial..... Or if you like me and have white iMac get one and a one gig chip to max which would end up being cheaper then crucial.....

    derekjd


    Note: sorry I just noticed you were from the UK, not sure what the deal with shipping would be from newegg, but ya still get what I'm saying that places like crucial are overpriced......
     
  9. Nichod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #9
    Is the transcend ram running smoothly? I've never used the brand myself.
     
  10. luffytubby macrumors 6502a

    luffytubby

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #10
    The SD 5300 Ram that you can buy from the apple store, is really expenssive.

    I wonder what the quality of it is.


    What if someone got 8 Gigabyte ram in their machine? how much faster would it be, compared to 4 Gigabyte?

    Does brand matter in macs? Is it not better sticking with apples?
     
  11. derekjd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #11
    transcend

    It runs fine and I have my iMac constantly working with video conversion/compression..... I wish my iMac could take more then 3gigs, would help me out a bit.... If your looking at upgrading look at some of the reviews on the ram and see how many mac users are using with no issues, I always prefer buying products that have a bunch of reviews too (unless it's incredibly priced) so it seems to be well tested....

    derekjd.
     
  12. derekjd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #12

    No apple ram is not worth it, it's just third party ram marked up to make a buck... Apple puts machines together, they don't manufacture ram, cpus or graphics card so it doesn't really matter who's product you go with.... Although like I said in the prior post I like to read reviews of products to see if there are any unexpected results...

    You need to know the capacity of ram that your mac can handle, would be pointless to put 8gigs in a mac that could only handle 4gigs. Where your going to notice speed is when your machine doesn't have to swap data on/off the HD and is able to store it in ram.

    To make it real simple think of it this way, ram is like a painting canvas and data is like paint. The more canvas you have the more paint can be spread across it...

    Hope that helps....

    derekjd
     

Share This Page