Memory upgrades

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by janitorC7, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. janitorC7 macrumors 6502a

    janitorC7

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #1
    Why is this not possible. Basically what is stopping me from sticking a 16gb chip in here?
     
  2. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #2
    in where?
    I dont see a slot anywhere, do you?
     
  3. thisonechance macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    Must be some fancy new sim card technology:rolleyes:

    But really, not possible unless you are manufacturing the iphone out of your basement.
     
  4. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Because soldiering Nand chips onto a PCB is something Apple wants the end user doing.
     
  5. DaftUnion macrumors 6502a

    DaftUnion

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #5
    Bummer. I was looking for the hard drive slot too but I couldn't find it.:p

    It's a valid question though if you don't own an iPhone or haven't looked over the specific specs.
     
  6. janitorC7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    janitorC7

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #6
    true, I have not looked at the inside. but with enough modding, would it be at all possible to sod a new chip in there, or do you think i would be looking at some software limitations?
     
  7. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7

    Could always try. I know people have been successful putting chips into the Nano and them working. Of course the iPhone has a bit more complicated OS so who knows.
     
  8. sJv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    #8
    If I recall (which may not be very accurate), the Samsung flash chip is a BGA package. Unless you happen to have a $$$$ BGA rework station at your disposal, this is about as far from a DIY operation as you can get...

    -steve
     
  9. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #9
    I doubt its that simple.
    The phone probably wouldnt support it.
    And messing around with such an expensive phone is a bad idea IMO.


     
  10. logandzwon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #10
    IF someone send me the phone and the chips I have access to a someone that can do it. It would be a fun experiment!
     
  11. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #11
    If you pay me $600 plus the cost of the 16GB RAM, I might consider it. ;)

    As for the OS, It's basically OS X minus the desktop apps. It views the memory in there now as one big file system, like any good UNIX OS should. So added memory houldn' tbe a problem there. It's just the hardware that's the issue.
     
  12. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #12
    If you call one 8 gig iPhone from another, you get 16 gigs. Easy.
     
  13. Don Bagles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #13
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::(:(:(


    ????
     

Share This Page