Memory Usage

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by seth556, Sep 28, 2014.

  1. seth556 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    #1
    I have 4gb of ram on my Mac Mini and the past few days it Yosemite seems to be using more memory than ever. Anyone else experiencing this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Shawzborne macrumors 6502a

    Shawzborne

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #2

    It's designed that way it allocates the ram to allow it to run more efficiently
     
  3. seth556 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    #3
    It's slow typing this message. I finished typing that sentence and it was just starting to display the t in typing. So I don't think it's very efficient right now.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    How does the CPU usage look? Is it better after a reboot?
     
  5. seth556 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    #5
    It's a little better after a reboot but still gets bad. CPU usage seems normal.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Since this is a new problem, I think we should ask if it is limited to Safari or is system wide.
     
  7. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #7
    GM hasn't improved memory usage much, if at all.

    If you consistently run more than a handful of apps and/or have many tabs open, you better have 8GB or more to run Yosemite comfortably.
     
  8. anupash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Location:
    Aachen, Germany
    #8
    memory usage in yosemite is too high.. without any apps open i quickly reach 330 mb of compressed memory and I have 8 GB RAM...
     
  9. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #9
    Using iMessage, Safari, Outlook, Excel other productivity tools for work, I"m sitting at 6.5GB free RAM (840MB used).
     
  10. cookies! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #10
    isn't OS X supposed to use all of the RAM available and then apportion it between active applications as needed? that's how it's been since at least 10.6 for me (when I first moved to Mac). I've always had 8-16GB and all of it is always 'used' within an hour of boot
     
  11. ABC5S macrumors 68040

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    What he ^ said...

    Your still in the green. Look up Mavericks and Yosemite memory management doing a google search. It will explain this. Its normal now...This question has been posted a number of times
     

Share This Page