Memory!? We doan need no stinkin' memory!

Discussion in 'iPad' started by doodude, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. doodude macrumors regular

    doodude

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    pssst, look behind you...
    #1
    Do you use an app to free your memory or do you just reboot?

    If you do use an app to free that memory, Which app?
     
  2. diabolic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #2
    What apps are you running? I have rebooted my iPad less than 10 times since I got it on launch day. It stays on all the time. I haven't encountered any memory problems.
     
  3. doodude thread starter macrumors regular

    doodude

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    pssst, look behind you...
    #3
    I dont run anything unusual. Some games, iPod, Safari etc.

    Im not having major memory problems ( I dont think ) but the memory goes down to 70-80 mb & while I can just reboot if I need the memory it will eventually build up on its own.

    Im just curious if anyone else uses these apps & which ones they might be...
     
  4. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Same here. This isn't a BlackBerry that you need apps to free up memory and re-boot every 4 hours. I got mine a month ago and re-booted only once which was during a restore.
     
  5. doodude thread starter macrumors regular

    doodude

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    pssst, look behind you...
    #5
    Maybe my terminology is wrong here. Im not talking about a full system reboot.
    Ive rarely done one of those myself.

    If Im going to play a game or do anything that may be memory intensive, then I like to free my memory.
    As a JB iPad I have the free memory available showing at top with the time & date. If its under 100mb I prefer to free what I can.
    So does anyone use apps to free memory or close programs in order to free memory?
     
  6. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Okay you didn't mention it was JB. I'm assuming you're speaking in terms of backgrounder? If that is the case, then to free the memory I would close all the apps that you do not need. I have gone with more than 10 apps open and never noticed any speed difference in the processing speed. I am not aware of any programs that allow you to free up memory however few may exist which others maybe able to point out.
    Having own a BlackBerry Smartphone which is far worse than any Apple product, I can safely say that unless you hit below 20MB in RAM, you're fine and shouldn't notice a speed difference.
     
  7. iThinman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #7
    I want more memory. I don't care if I don't need or use it, I'm American and I want it.

    Seriously though, 256? Comeon. Anyone saying that is enough is justifying. It's 2010. They could have easily had it at 512 to begin with at minimal, if any , cost to bottom line or battery consumption.

    I haven't done the page file hack, but probably will soon to test it's performance with the apps I need to multitask. I basically want to have Pandora or MLB running, Jump, and still be able to hit the web for 3 pages or so without those shutting down.

    It just about does it as-is, but not quite.
     
  8. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    Under 100? lol that's pretty much anytime you open any program. I rarely have more than 60mb free. Pages constantly reload in Safari etc. Drives me bananas.
     
  9. doodude thread starter macrumors regular

    doodude

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    pssst, look behind you...
    #9
    OK, sorry I didn't make myself very clear, my bad...

    As a JB iPhone 3G user Ive always had issues with not enough memory causing the unit to stall or respring due to the lack of available RAM.

    I suppose when I see the iPad begin to lose 1/2 or more of the available RAM as I open programs I start getting kinda 'jicky' & I feel the need to 'fix it' before it stalls.

    So Ive been using these apps like 'Memory Info' to just close apps & free up the RAM.
    It seems to do the job. But is it only doing the same thing I could do if I just turned off the iPad for a minute & turned it back on?
     
  10. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #10
    Same for me.
     
  11. PhelpsiPhan macrumors 6502

    PhelpsiPhan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    I havnt noticed any memory issues with my iPad, but if you do, i think rebooting is the best way to clear it up, always helped with my iPhone 3g :)
     
  12. tonyt3rry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #12
    I've had a few app crashes but nothing major just a simple reboot Evan tho ain't needed. It's nothing comared to my 3G lol that is a lag machine
     
  13. Zazoh macrumors 6502a

    Zazoh

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    Mico, Texas
    #13
    I think your issue is you JB the device. I've used since launch day, have rebooted only a handful of times and have Never had memory problems.
     
  14. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    So you feel you need to fix an issue before it exist's and here in lies your theological struggle as you question whether the problem would have even existed ?

    Chicken or Egg ? Chicken or Egg ? And why does Chewbacca live on Endor ? It makes no sense.....
     
  15. grapemac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #15
    Dude, just ****ing use the thing and get on with your life.
     
  16. damnyooneek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    #16
    YOU WANT? YOU PAY. BUY OR GO...
     

Share This Page