memory

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by imac2007, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. imac2007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #1
    I was just wondering if I add 1.0 GB OF memory to my iMac do I have to change the original stick to match the memory I buy or can I mix them. Also is owc memory okay to buy or should I buy from crucial.
     
  2. bam1234567 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #2
    What kind of iMac do you have? G3, G4, G5 or Intel?
    If you have a G3, or a G4, You MUST buy 2 512MB PC133 Modules, if you have a G5 or Intel, then you CAN buy a 1GB and yes, you can mix and match.
     
  3. imac2007 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #3
    memory

    Thank you I just got my new Imac in Oct this year. It is a Core 2 Duo 20 inch my first mac ever and I just can not say enough good stuff about the mac experience. It is just after 9000 picture's and powerpoint and surfing the net I see that beech ball spinning.
     
  4. bam1234567 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #4
    Ah, yeah a Memory upgrade would be great for your Mac, but if your Hard Drive is getting full that WILL slow it down a lot, so delete anything you don't need. AND ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS keep 15% of your hard drive unused, so for every 100GB of space, keep 15GB unused. I did not do this with my eMac's hard drive and it crashed during my brother's Senior Project, it was a nightmare.
     
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    you can mix them
     
  6. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    The 15% real isn't really a rule. As if you have a 1tb drive you don't need %15 free. More like 30gb.:) Also that shouldn't cause your system to crash.
     
  7. bam1234567 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #7
    Oh, that's good to hear about that 1TB thing, I wasn't sure. And about that crash thing, trust me, $1600 at three different places says it was, the third head misaligned.
     
  8. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #8
    That is a hardware problem. Has NOTHING to do with how much data you have on the drive.
     

Share This Page