Menu Bar Tools Bartender 3 and iStat Menus 5 Now Support macOS High Sierra

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Sep 3, 2017.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Surtees Studios recently announced it has released a public beta of Bartender 3 for testing on macOS High Sierra and macOS Sierra. It's a free update available within Bartender 2, which costs $15 after a free four-week trial.

    [​IMG]

    The popular tool for rearranging or hiding Mac menu bar items has been completely rewritten in Swift, according to the release notes.

    Bartender 3 also no longer requires the Bartender Helper to be installed in menu bar apps in order to control them. As a result, Bartender is no longer able to display the Bartender Bar beneath the menu bar--only within it.

    The change was necessary since, in macOS High Sierra, Apple has apparently tightened its System Integrity Protection security feature, preventing system items like Spotlight search from being controlled by Bartender 2.

    iStat Menus 5 was also recently updated with improved support for macOS High Sierra and MacBook Pro, MacBook, and iMac models released in 2017.

    [​IMG]

    The popular Mac system monitor also gained improved per-process network monitoring, improved per-process memory monitoring in OS X El Capitan and macOS Sierra, improved Bluetooth battery monitoring, and improved disk monitoring performance, plus a fix for an issue with the sun position in light map.

    iStat Menus is built into the macOS menu bar, providing power users with convenient access to system information, such as CPU and GPU usage, memory stats, fan speeds, temperatures, disk usage, and battery life.

    iStat Menus 5 is $18 on developer Bjango's website, with a free 14-day trial available. The latest update is version 5.32.

    (Thanks, Neil T.!)

    Article Link: Menu Bar Tools Bartender 3 and iStat Menus 5 Now Support macOS High Sierra
     
  2. mixel macrumors 68000

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #3
    I need bartender. my menubar gets ridiculous without it.
     
  3. swrobel macrumors member

    swrobel

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
  4. Lioness~ macrumors 65816

    Lioness~

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Wild and Free
    #5
    Super duper. Transition to HighSierra is coming.
    I have both apps :)
     
  5. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #6
    I have never tried Bartender or iStat.
     
  6. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #7
    $18 for a single install still seems like way too much for iStat Menus, especially when I'd be fine with a free lite version.

    Over the years there have been alternatives developed after iStat Menus went paid, like Menu Meters which I was using on OS X Mavericks, but unfortunately I'm not aware of any that work on Sierra or High Sierra.
     
  7. Starflyer macrumors 6502a

    Starflyer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    #8
    Love Bartender! Worth every penny to reduce desktop clutter.
     
  8. jonnysods macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #9
  9. pdaholic macrumors 65816

    pdaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #10
    I was literally not going to install High Sierra if bartender wasn't going to be compatible. Nothing in the new OS worth losing one of the most useful utilities on my Mac. Amazing Apple doesn't offer another way to organize that mess known as the toolbar!
     
  10. Lauren Olivia macrumors newbie

    Lauren Olivia

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    #11
    I really like the changes to Bartender. It’s feels more integrated instead of like a third party tool.
     
  11. jmh600cbr macrumors 6502a

    jmh600cbr

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #12
    I love bartender but it’s starting to feel like I give them $15 a year
     
  12. canadianreader macrumors 6502

    canadianreader

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #13
    Also Try Unclutter App
     
  13. tjleonard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #14
    Recently found unclutter and it was another game changing app.
     
  14. macduke macrumors G3

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #15
    I love Bartender but it's too bad you can't have the menu at underneath when you click the more icon in this new update. This article also mentions Spotlight—so is it not going to be editable at all going forward? I like turning off Spotlight and only using a keyboard shortcut. I also turn off the Notification Center icon and use a gesture to invoke. This is like half my reason for using this app. I don't mind installing the helper because this is a system utility. Hope they still provide the option and can hack something together!
     
  15. sfobear macrumors newbie

    sfobear

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    I'm right there with you. This was the first time I ever even considered not upgrading, but I was going to put it off if I couldn't use Bartender.

    I'm really glad the developer figured out a solution to what is becoming the SIP problem.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 4, 2017 ---
    Note the update to Bartender 3 is free, which is a pretty good deal considering the developer had to update the app because of changes in macOS, something completely out of their control. Up to macOS beta 3, the developer tested and verified that Bartender 2 worked just fine.

    (https://www.macbartender.com/blog/)
     
  16. poi ran macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    #17
    I'm using MenuMeters on Sierra, a fork from https://member.ipmu.jp/yuji.tachikawa/MenuMetersElCapitan/ , I have no idea about it working on High Sierra though. I use it in combo with HWMonitor (http://www.hwsensors.com/) , and see little use for iStat these days even if iStat is very "good looking" and probably safer to use than HWMonitor which I only run on a "hackintosh".
     

    Attached Files:

  17. MasterMac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #18
    Not me, as long as Apple gives people a way to disable it if they want.

    Bartender and iStat Menus are two of a few applications that I'm more than happy to support on a regular basis for continued development.
     
  18. MrGimper macrumors 603

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #19
    I use both, and have done since I switched to Mac. Glad Bartender is able to continue as was a bit worried for a while. It's a shame the bar can't be used as the new method means that to avoid excessive mouse movements, you have have the "more" icon to the far right.
     
  19. pdaholic macrumors 65816

    pdaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #20
    Just installed Public Beta of High Sierra and I can confirm Bartender 3 beta works as described.

    Can also confirm that High Sierra thus far is pretty bleh. Safari seems...the same.
     
  20. NecroKill Suspended

    NecroKill

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    #21
    Works on high sierra too.
     
  21. philipc121 macrumors member

    philipc121

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #22
    Sorry for being dense — I'm not quite sure I follow this point. I've tried to install the beta of version 3 too see for myself but it won't let me... If anyone has installed it, can you explain/screenshot what this means?

    At the moment I have the Bartender icon hidden completely and access it via keyboard shortcut, is that still an option?
     
  22. pdaholic macrumors 65816

    pdaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #23
    Instead of the bartender menu popping up under the toolbar, it becomes the right side of the toolbar. Select the bartender icon again and it goes back to the toolbar.

    If you are on high sierra, make sure you go to the bartender creator's blog and select the link to sign up for the beta. Then just hit update on the bartender menu and it will update.

    Not sure about the keyboard shortcut but I can't imagine that would be gone. I can check later.
     
  23. RGPphotog macrumors member

    RGPphotog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #24

    When it comes out you can try it to see if you still feel that way, and make your choice. For me, I'm running the 6 betas, and I already paid them for the family pack upgrade.
     
  24. philipc121 macrumors member

    philipc121

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #25
    Thanks for that!
     

Share This Page