menubar clock is frozen

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jdm111, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. jdm111 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #1
    Hello, the clock on the menubar is frozen. If i click on it the time updates but it is still frozen. I have tried quitting SystemUIServer and i have restarted but the clock is still frozen.

    Thanks
     
  2. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #2
    Click it and it updates, how bizarre. Something to do with DST maybe?

    Probably be fixed in a few minutes :)
     
  3. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #3
    Same here. How strange.

    Edit : Well It's 2 AM (again) and the problem is still there.
     
  4. jdm111 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #4
    Hello again, It has just gone back to 1:00 and is still frozen. Please can someone give me the UK time please?
     
  5. PR. macrumors member

    PR.

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Bedford, UK
    #5
    Same here, time is correct when I click on it but doesn't update automatically.
     
  6. jdm111 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #6
    Looks to be a UK problem then. My clock did not go on to 2 am it just went back to 1 am.
     
  7. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #7
    Guess it's gunna take a reboot... will give it a go =D
     
  8. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #8
    Everything is back to normal here in Belgium.
     
  9. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #9
    Reboot fixed it. Some sort of DST bug.

    Looks like my MBA is also depressed to be back in GMT ;)
     
  10. jdm111 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #10
    And the clock comes back to life. Anyone know what happened then?
     
  11. mrchinchilla macrumors 6502

    mrchinchilla

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #11
    This really annoyed me and p****d me off. I rectified it by deleting the Clock.menu in /System/Library/CoreServices/MenuItems/ and replacing it with a backup one and it's fine now. Mine, at least, was triggered by exiting full-screen mode in QuickTime.
     
  12. jdm111 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #12
    I doubt it was the reboot that fixed it. I tried rebooting and it did nothing. Looks like it came back when you were rebooting.
     
  13. jdm111 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
  14. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #14
    I wondered what the hell was going on. It updates if I click the time but stays frozen at that time until I click it again. :confused:

    I was just about to reboot but I'll leave it and see if it's working properly in the morning.
     
  15. jdm111 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #15
    lol, Y2K was no problem for unix, but the change from bst to gmt was too much ;)
     
  16. jdm111 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
  17. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #17
    Yes, I'm on Snow Leopard.

    It's now working fine.
     

Share This Page