[Merged] Running Google Chrome in Virtualization (Parallels, VMWare, etc)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Kahalu'u Bob, Sep 2, 2008.

  1. Kahalu'u Bob macrumors 6502a

    Kahalu'u Bob

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #1
    I've just tried to load Google Chrome in Windows XP Pro running in VMware Fusion. No luck! I get the little sad folder face when I try to launch and a message that the program failed to load properly.

    Has anyone else gotten this to work yet?

    Aloha,
    Bob
     
  2. maestrocasa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere on the Buffalo National River
    #2
    yep. seems to be working fine. In fact I'm typing in Chrome/Fusion right now. I will say that I'm not overly impressed with the browser running in virtualization. kinda slow to load and typing is slower than Firefox. But... I really like the frequent pages thumbnails and the searching address bar.

    maybe you got a bad download of the browser. trash it and re-download.
     
  3. Kahalu'u Bob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Kahalu'u Bob

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #3
    Rats. Still no luck. Tried a clean install three times. Still get this error message:

    The application failed to initialize properly (0x0000005). Click on OK to terminate the application.

    If I try to restart Chrome, I get the same error. So I think the issue is in the installation.

    Afraid I may need to give up for now.

    Thanks!
     
  4. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #4
    Is working for me, and it's very fast in Fusion too (2 Beta 2).

    This is on a Mac Pro, 4 virtual CPUs and 2GB of RAM allocated.
     
  5. mark.roemers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Location:
    Amersfoort
    #5
    Google Chrome on Parallels, eats memory

    Hello all,

    On my MBA I am running a Parallel/Windos XP environment. I allocate 864 MB of memory to Windows and it works fine. Yesterday I installed Google Chrome and my Windows XP is running dead slow. I have to wait seconds for click to result in actions. My Mac-OSX runs fine (as ever).

    Anybody out there has the same problem? Like to resolve it, because I like the user-interface of Google Chrome far better than IE!!!

    Regards MArk
     
  6. pwn247 macrumors 6502

    pwn247

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    West Virginia, USA
    #6
    Sticking to Firefox here. I tried Chrome in VMWare, as well as through BootCamp and wasn't too impressed. Hopefully Google can perfect their browser as time passes. :)
     
  7. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    Have you checked the Chrome Task Manager (shift + esc)?
     
  8. 555Filk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
  9. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #9
    did you guys open a lot of tabs because each tab is a process on your computer, that is why it sucks the memory down
     
  10. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #10
    Chrome doesnt seem to display my iwebsite site correctly? I thought it was built on the same engine as Safari?
     
  11. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #11
    true and false
    true it uses webkit, false in that they changed the webkit alot to meet their needs plus it is an old version of webkit
     
  12. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    Yeah, this is exactly what I was afraid of when I heard about Chrome... from how I understand it, my typical browsing behavior would consume tons of memory in Chrome.

    Although, not that Chrome is coming out for Linux right this minute anyway, but admittedly, my web browsing computer is my Eee, and it does have two gigabytes of memory to do basically nothing other than run Pidgin and Firefox on top of Gnome.... :eek:
     
  13. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #13
    true and false,

    true that they are using webkit, false, since they are using their own javascript engine, V8, since iWeb website are heavily on js, your problem is expected.

    do we really need so many js engines? opera's, IE's, gecko's spider/trace/action/monkeys, squirrelFish. and V8..... I guess competitions are always good.

    I expect multi-threading will eats more memory,, But I didn't see much on my machine (maybe because I normally has less than 5 tabs open..), also as long as system runs smooth, I wouldn't worry about memory.

    Now somebody reported Chrome eats CPU too, that would be a different issue, I haven't experienced it yet.
     
  14. Latro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #14
  15. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #15
  16. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #16
    It'll be interesting to see if this results in any community-maintained variants of Chrome, like there are processor optimized builds of Firefox and so on.

    Perhaps it might also speed up Chrome's arrival on Linux....
     

Share This Page