Mesh Router recommendation

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Rugbydman, Mar 5, 2018.

  1. Rugbydman macrumors regular

    Rugbydman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    #1
    hi All
    I want to upgrade my WiFi to a new mesh system
    I have a very large bungalow with brick walls

    I was looking at the orbi rbk50 but the units are large and I read some reviews saying it’s not actually a mesh network

    Google WiFi gets good reviews but they say it’s lacking behind on tech.

    Does anyone know of any updated hardware this year or recommend a system

    Thanks

    Darren
     
  2. hobowankenobi, Mar 5, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2018

    hobowankenobi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Location:
    on the land line mr. smith.
    #2
    Hey -

    You might check out UBNT gear.

    I have not used their latest, true mesh gear, but their previous stuff, which is POE based (ethernet cable to each WAP) is very good, and cost effective. I have set up quite a few, and all setups have been rock solid. A few AC lite WAPs would cover most houses.

    Obviously you need to be able to pull data cable to each WAP, but often that is easier and cleaner than finding/using/adding AC power to the right spot.

    Or...you might consider powerline adapters. I bring that up because the brick walls will limit how you setup anything that is wireless, mesh or not. If you have AC in an impossible-to-wire area, powerline will get you data pretty easily and cheaply....and you could put a WAP on it.

    If you want something much easier and sexier, check out Amplifi. Made by UBNT, and gets lots of praise. Seriously sexy looking, and looks like a dream to setup. Never used one, but would be on my short list.
     
  3. dwfaust macrumors 601

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #3
    I've been running the Amplifi system for about 10 months now... works great in my 2500 sf, one story house. The cable modem/base unit are in the office, near the middle of the house. I have one mesh point unit in the family room, about 25 feet in one direction (2 walls between the base unit and the mesh point), and the other mesh point is in the hall way near the front of the house, about 20 feet away with 3 walls between them.

    I reboot the unit about once a week, just to keep it "fresh". I have no complaints.
     
  4. Rugbydman thread starter macrumors regular

    Rugbydman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    #4
    Thanks for your recommendation I’ll check out the amplifi system
     
  5. Nishant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    I bought the Linksys Velop. Been very happy with the coverage compared to my old set up.

    Costco had a 4 pack on sale. House is 3400 sq ft + basement. No issues with coverage anywhere.
     
  6. Rugbydman thread starter macrumors regular

    Rugbydman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    #6
    Mmm Foxconn just taken linksys wonder what they will do
     
  7. Rugbydman thread starter macrumors regular

    Rugbydman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
  8. bristleworm macrumors 6502

    bristleworm

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Yes! I installed the Velop in our home a few months ago and it's working really smoothly. No issues whatsoever, and setup was extremely simple through the iOS app.
     
  9. Rugbydman thread starter macrumors regular

    Rugbydman

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    #9
    so just tried to setup the orbi. it won't allow a ' in the ssid which means i can't use my existing name.
    that means i will have to hard reset every lifx lightbulb and ring doorbell
    can the velop except a '
     

Share This Page

8 March 5, 2018