iPad Pro Message Upon Startup.....

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Newbert, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. Newbert macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    #1
    Every time I start up my iPad Pro (after being powered off), I get a message asking me to verify (enter) my AppleID. This never happened with my previous iPads. I think that I may have skipped over something when setting it up.

    Is there a way to have it "remember" my AppleID or at least stop this message from popping up?

    Thanks!
     
  2. jimnaze macrumors newbie

    jimnaze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
  3. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #3
    It is either a bug or a new feature with the OS. Multiple threads on it. I seldom restart my iPad Pro but noticed the same on mine. Looks like a good security feature but they will likely fix it in an update.
     
  4. clubtech macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    #4
    Same issue here but it doesn't happen every restart. Weird
     
  5. JoshVB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    #6
    I too have seen this when powering on my iPad Pro.
     
  6. ke-iron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #7
    Just out of curiosity. Why do you guys power off your iPad pro? It's designed to stay on and in standby mode with almost no impact on battery life.
     
  7. millydog macrumors regular

    millydog

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    I also get the same message & need to enter my password. I hope it's a bug and not a new feature since I'm not a fan of it. BTW, the same is also happening on my iPad Air 2 now, also on iOS 9.1.
     
  8. JoshVB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    #9
    For me, I never power down an iOS device unless I'm having issues with it. Having said that, I've had to force a reboot on the iPad Pro after it has become unresponsive during overnight charging.

    Josh
     
  9. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #10
    Looks like a bug in 9.1

    I also get the having to enter my pin instead of touchid cause it's been over 48 hours, which is never the case.
     
  10. danmart macrumors 6502

    danmart

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Location:
    Lancs, UK
    #11
    All my idevices require me to enter my password every 48 hours, irrespective of usage. I assumed this was some kind of deliberate change.

    I wondered if it was to make sure people don't forget their password? It's very easy to not need it for long periods of time now. I have a recovery key set on my account, so I don't think Apple would be able to reset the password if I forgot it and had lost the recovery key?
     
  11. Beards macrumors 6502a

    Beards

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    Derbyshire UK
    #12
    Mine happens all the time Josh. If I let the charge reach 100% it crashes and locks out. As you say the only way to wake is a cold reboot.
     
  12. ke-iron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #13
    Ah I see. When I started using my iPad pro for the first time I set it up as a new device. Have you tried restoring it and doing the same?
     
  13. Beards macrumors 6502a

    Beards

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    Derbyshire UK
    #14
    If you're talking of the charging issue where the Pro dies and you have to resort to a cold reboot to wake it then no, you should not have to set it up as a new device.
    Apple know there is a problem, it is their instructions to carry out a cold reboot until it is fixed.
     
  14. ke-iron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #15
    No I'm replying to the other poster who's having a different issue where it becomes unresponsive. However it doesn't hurt to try a restore and set up as new. Especially if you've restored this from a previous back up. Dispite what Apple instructions are, it doesn't hurt to try a restore.
     
  15. millydog macrumors regular

    millydog

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    I restored via iTunes backup and don't have the issue. Is it possible that only iCloud restores have the issue?
    I'm wondering if it could be resolved by backing up to iTunes & then restoring from that backup rather than an iCloud one.
     
  16. RevTEG macrumors 6502

    RevTEG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #17
    Edit: nevermind, I should read better. Apple ID not password. My apologies.

    All my iOS devices require passcode to be entered every time they are powered off or the battery dies upon restart. It's been that way for at least the last two full iOS updates. My iPhone 5 was that way. My updated iPad 3 was that way. Now my iPhone 6 Plus and iPad pro are as well. If it's a bug it's been that way for a long time.

    Macrumers even posted that it could be used if the police wanted you to unlock your phone/iPad. The police can use your figure print as DNA to unlock your device but not a password.

    Maybe I'm missing what the OP was asking??
     
  17. MartyCan macrumors 65816

    MartyCan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    Near Toronto, ON
    #18
    Haven't had that with my IPP yet but it has been happening with my iPhone and Air2. Might be an iOs thing.
     
  18. JoshVB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    #19
    My iPad Pro was setup as a new device, not restored from a backup. My recharge problem resolved itself by enabling Hey Siri feature. I've not once had the unresponsive iPad Pro after recharging issue since.
     
  19. Beards macrumors 6502a

    Beards

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    Derbyshire UK
    #20
    Yes, I have been monitoring mine this past few days and can also report that since enabling Siri (Settings/General/Siri Allow "Hey Siri") the Pro has not died on me once.
    It would therefore appear to be some form of coding issue with Siri and not hardware which some believe it to be.
     
  20. JoshVB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    #21
    Yep, I don't believe it's a hardware issue. I've been using my iPad Pro with Hey Siri enabled now for a while and as I had said, have had no issues. Also, since I setup the Pro as a new device, I don't think the issue has anything to do with corrupt backups/restore issue.

    Josh
     
  21. Beards macrumors 6502a

    Beards

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    Derbyshire UK
    #22
    Concur Josh, nothing whatsoever to do with corrupt backups, doing restores or setting up as a new device.
    You know that feeling you get when you hear a noise that makes you wince like metal scraping in a metal sink, well that's the same feeling I get when you are told to set up as new.
     
  22. JoshVB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    #23
    Agreed. Restore and setup as new is a common support solution. I was skeptical of the Hey Siri feature correcting this forzen state issue, but it did work for me. I'm actually rather surprised how long it has taken Apple to push out an update for affected users. Not everyone who uses Apple products visit the online forums like Macrumors, or are technical enough to troubleshoot their own issues. I would imagine those iPad Pro users would be very frusturated by now with now offical Apple resolution!
     

Share This Page