iPhone 8(+) Messages Delete Confirmation

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dirtylilhobo, May 16, 2018.

  1. dirtylilhobo macrumors regular

    dirtylilhobo

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Location:
    The Southwest
    #1
    Ever since IOS 11.3 for iPhone and iPad Messages now requires an annoying confirmation to deletea messages. Before simply swipe left and a box [delete] appears, click it, done. Now it’s, swipe, click delete and another window opens “Would you like to delete this conversation?” with another [delete] box.

    Is there anyway to stop this confirmation and go back to just the single swipe and delete?
     
  2. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
  3. dirtylilhobo thread starter macrumors regular

    dirtylilhobo

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Location:
    The Southwest
    #3
    Thanks for reply. Tried that setting but still get the annoying confirmation box.

    Just to be clear the messages I am addressing are text messages, not mail messages.
     
  4. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #4
    I’m sorry I thought you were talking bout email. Duh it’s late, or early....
     
  5. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #5
    Does not look like it is possible to stop this confirmation message.
     
  6. Banglazed macrumors 68020

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #6
    It may be a safeguard to make sure you’re not deleting an entire valuable conversational thread that is unrecoverable. Also, it may allow you to get use to it before rolling out potential Message in iCloud.

    The other alternative is “Edit”, select threads, delete which has 3 steps similar to swipe, delete, confirm delete prompt.
     
  7. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #7
    I think it’s a really good thing to prevent accidental loss of data. Asking multiple times is never bad!
     
  8. dirtylilhobo thread starter macrumors regular

    dirtylilhobo

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Location:
    The Southwest
    #8
    I guess, but the years we’ve used Messaging without this extra step have instilled an automatic muscle memory that takes awhile to relearn. I was hoping there was a switch to either enable or disable the extra step..

    Thanks...
     
  9. blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    It is a mildly annoying, easy to get used to, completely understandable change.

    Kind of surprised it wasn't like this before.
     
  10. ZEEN0j macrumors 65816

    ZEEN0j

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #10
    Added in the 11.3 beta for messages in the cloud. The feature was removed but the dialog box remains. It will make more sense with 11.4 where deleting the conversation will remove it on all devices. In short it’s a safeguard.
     
  11. Frankfurt macrumors 6502

    Frankfurt

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Location:
    USA

Share This Page