Messed up EFI, late 2013 15" rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by FinnPhone, Nov 9, 2013.

  1. FinnPhone macrumors member

    FinnPhone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    The case is that my first windows 8.1 bootcamp installation failed, then i tried second time with these instructions:https://discussions.apple.com/message/23631556#23631556

    and windows installation was successful. However now I have two windows entries in EFI like this:

    [​IMG]

    In photo there is the "working" windows HD chosen, if i chose the right side windows HD computer just freezes. If i boot computer without keeping alt key pushed down the screen will just stay gray, not even Apple startup chime. With alt key I can boot to OSX or Windows and both work o.k.

    From disk utility view everything looks o.k?

    [​IMG]

    Any help is appreciated, just 3 days old computer and my first mac, I wouldn't like to do OSX re-install... :(
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  3. FinnPhone thread starter macrumors member

    FinnPhone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #3
    The failed windows 8.1 installation probably caused it, I thought i did everything like Apple bootcamp instructions told.
     
  4. DSpawnZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    Argentina
    #4
    Hi. You can try EasyBCD under Windows (with extreme caution!).
    Among other functions it has an EFI Table editor.
    In advanced mode you can delete the non-working EFI entry,
    probably Windows setup left it there.

    Sorry for my english.
     
  5. FinnPhone thread starter macrumors member

    FinnPhone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #5
    De nada, english isn't either my native language. I try EasyBCD and report here what are the results.
     
  6. FinnPhone thread starter macrumors member

    FinnPhone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #6
    [​IMG]

    Well, I enabled expert mode in EasyBCD but still couldn't find EFI Table editor, is it only available at paid version of that program? I installed the free version.:confused:
     
  7. FinnPhone thread starter macrumors member

    FinnPhone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #7
    From system preferences I managed to change startup up disk to OSX and computer boots now as it supposed did also NVRAM/PRAM reset but windows extra entry still stays in EFI...
     
  8. DSpawnZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    Argentina
    #8
    Please tell me what it shows in "Edit Boot Menu"
     
  9. FinnPhone thread starter macrumors member

    FinnPhone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #9
    Here's the view from boot menu
    [​IMG]
     
  10. jondunford macrumors 6502

    jondunford

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Going for a poo Moderator
    #10
    putting windows in a mac is like putting diesel in a dodge viper
     
  11. DSpawnZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    Argentina
    #11
    It seems there's no duplicated EFI entries.
    What I think it might be hapenning is that Windows 8.1 creates a 350mb recovery partition at the end of the volume space.
    The Mac EFI boot menu, might be "seeing" this partition as a Windows boot partition , so it shows you two instances, the primary big partition and the recovery partition.
    If this is what is happening, you won't be able to delete it, because Windows 8.1 relies on that partition.

    Regards.
     
  12. FinnPhone thread starter macrumors member

    FinnPhone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #12
    Okay. Thanks for help, I made appointment for Apple phone support for next monday. There must be something wrong in my windows installation because I haven't seen reports from other users about this kind of problem, or current EFI version of this computer has serious issues regarding windows 8 installation. Just wondering if this would cause problems when installing parallels/wmwarefusion?
     
  13. FinnPhone thread starter macrumors member

    FinnPhone

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #13
    It might be so, but according Apple advertising these computers accept also "diesel". Nevertheless hands down this is best computer I have so far owned.
     

Share This Page