messed up ssd macbook air 2013

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by bloodface906, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. bloodface906 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #1
    hi so I'm having some problems with my macbook it says i have 50gb in apps which i don't and it says i have 80gb out of 120gb left and then if you add up all things like audio, apps, other films, etc it adds upto way more that 40gb

    here is a screen shot of what i mean.

    http://gyazo.com/a1e0be5c546517bc0d421e5790eb4f25
     
  2. iPhysicist macrumors 65816

    iPhysicist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Location:
    Dresden
    #2
    Do you run the Yosemite beta? Ah, OK you probably do not... strange Problem. Have you tried to actually look into your Apps Folder? Either way you should share some additional informations about your System.
     
  3. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
    Hey bloodface,

    Download OmniDiskSweeper from here: http://www.omnigroup.com/download/latest/OmniDiskSweeper

    This will show an easy-to-view hierarchy of what is taking up the most space, and where. Please can you let it scan your SSD and then screenshot (Cmd+Shift+4+Spacebar) the result?
     
  4. bloodface906 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #4

    yes i did run that but when i click about this mac then click on storage it gives me a incorrect hdd amount as it says i only have 80gb out of 120gb left and then it says i have used 50gb in apps but all the values do not add up
     
  5. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #5
    Ah, sorry for my confusion. I remember having something like this on my 2011 MBP.

    If you could open Disk Utility, single-click Macintosh HD and then click 'Verify Disk' ... are there any errors on it?
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    That screen gets its data from the Spotlight index, and your index is corrupt and that is why you are getting bad reading. I am positive of this because other always shows something as that includes the OS.

    Run the command below in Terminal to reindex Spotlight then wait for the reindex to compete and check again. I bet this fixes you up.

    Code:
    sudo mdutil -E /
     

Share This Page