Messed up the calculator app...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by GlassBullet, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. GlassBullet macrumors regular

    GlassBullet

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    #1
    So yesterday I was trying to get a new skin for my calculator app. I downloaded one off the internet but I couldn't get it to apply with winterboard. I tried doing it manually by SSHing into the Calculator app, copying all the files below all the folders (the images and a couple .plst things) onto my computer, then replacing them on the phone with the new images I download. Well when I tried to open the app it crashed within a fraction of a second back to the springboard. I tried deleting the new files and putting the old ones back on, but that didn't help.

    What do you recommend doing to fix this? Is there a place to download the default calc app from? And if not, what do you recommend as a replacement calculator app?

    EDIT: Forgot to mention, I have a 3GS running 3.0.1
     
  2. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #2
    Well, this would probably be better suited for the iPhone Hacks forum, but my only suggestion would be to do a complete restore, that would get everything back to default.
     
  3. SashaFierce Guest

    SashaFierce

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
  4. GlassBullet thread starter macrumors regular

    GlassBullet

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    #4
    Yea i guess it would be. My bad.

    And I don't really need the calculator badly enough to restore the whole thing seeing as I have it jailbroken and many things installed.


    If i were to restore, what is the best way to back-up packages from cydia, if there is a way?
     
  5. pintnight macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    #5
    I do! I use the scientific mode since I'm a computer programmer.
     
  6. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #6
    Any backups you make will most likely end up carrying the problem over with you when you restore.
     
  7. GlassBullet thread starter macrumors regular

    GlassBullet

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    #7
    well the problem was with me messing up the files on SSH. I didn't use cydia to do it. I'm talking about backing up like backgrounder and themes and stuff
     
  8. bradenwh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #8
    You could just have someone give you the Calculator app and you could replace it. A restore isn't necessary.

    EDIT: Here's a link to mine. Just unzip it and just put the Calculator.app in /Applications and overwrite the one you have. Good luck. :)
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/3y42mxk3owm/Calculator.zip
     
  9. GlassBullet thread starter macrumors regular

    GlassBullet

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    #9
    thanks, but it didn't fix the problem
     

Share This Page