Messed up trying to reformat now nothing works

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by davidgolfer, Jan 4, 2016.

1. davidgolfer macrumors regular

I'm new to mac and really know very little about what I'm doing. I was trying to clean install to erase everything, the MacBook was given to my son. tried to erase the partition from the boot option. Apparently this messed it up.

I can boot into recovery mode but can't reinstall os x maverick or erase partition. When I try to delete or erase the partition it says can't unmount. This is a older MacBook with maverick not sure of the year.

I tried making a bootable usb from my new imac w/yosemite. I can boot up and get the usb drive to boot. The problem when I try to install os x it doesn't see my hardrive. Why will Yosemite usb not see the drive?

2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

I think that you somehow had the hard drive partly erased, so you should try erase again...
    - that may get you going properly:

Boot to your bootable USB installer.
    Run Disk Utility. That will be either on the main screen, or in the Utilities menu.
    If you see the hard drive listed in Disk Utility, choose that, then erase. Should only take a few seconds.
    Run Repair Disk on the newly erased hard drive.
    If that completes OK, you should be able to install OS X.

3. davidgolfer thread starter macrumors regular

When I boot to the usb drive and go to disk utility the screen just says loading disks and spins for ever.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 4, 2016, Original Post Date: Jan 4, 2016 ---
    It's actually a MacBook Pro
    --- Post Merged, Jan 4, 2016 ---
    When I try to erase the disk from the hard drive recovery mode I get "disk erase failed, couldn't unmount disk"

4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

Leave your USB installer plugged in.
    Shut your MBPro off.
    Do a PRAM reset:
    Press and release the power button, then immediately press and hold Option-Command-P and R.