Messed up with Boot Camp (so lost)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by tkc0mand3r, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. tkc0mand3r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #1
    So in order to play warhammer online I used boot camp to install xp on my new iMac. I no longer want to bother with windows and just want to return to my normal iMac. Supposably when you boot the computer you should be able to hold down the option key and it brings up Mac OS, or XP...XP only comes up for me. I have no idea how to switch back to mac and I need help..

    Also the only reason I'm fed up and don't want to use the xp anymore is because I can not figure out how to get an internet connection...I have my cable plugged in and an wireless that my mac picks up usually, yet under network connections nothing comes up besdies a 1394 enabled thing?...

    Any help would be appreciated so muchh
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    Sounds like you did not follow the clearly stated instructions and erased OSX partition.
     
  3. BigHungry04 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #3
    Use disc 1 of your restore discs to install the drivers for boot camp. The reason that OS X is not showing up is that it was probably deleted when the partition for windows was created. You may have to reinstall Leopard.
     
  4. tkc0mand3r thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #4
    yeap...ill admit im stupid if thats what your looking for, im just looking for an answer how to go back to normal not to know how badly i screwed up lol
     
  5. minik macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #5
    Have you tried the Boot Camp control panel under Windows XP?
     
  6. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #6
    if the bootcamp control panel app in windows does not list anything other than Windows as a startup drive then it is possible that your mac has only windows.

    Q. Were you able to dual boot at all after installing windows?
    Q. Did you have anything on your Mac (Mac OS X side) that is needed (i.e. stuff thats not backed up)?

    if no to these then it could be simple to pop the original disk in the drive and boot from it - to re-install Mac OS.

    Hope this helps a little..
     
  7. tkc0mand3r thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #7
    when i put the cd in on xp and click it from my computer it says install a new windows isntallation thing, so i click yes and then it says "the required resource 'update' is missing" and cancels the whole thing...I'm ready to just reboot this whole thing i didnt have anyting to special on my imac...I can do that with these 2 installation discs?
     
  8. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #8
    What you are lookingto do is boot the mac from the first installation disk of Mac OS. Put it in and reboot the computer.

    Hold the C key until it boots up MAC OS X installer.

    Go here and print it if you can (before rebooting) http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2956 << Apples guide with troubleshooting help

    that should see you through the install process.
     
  9. tkc0mand3r thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #9

    I appreciate it...the only problem know is I put the cd in...boot the comptuer hold down c get a little mac symbol with a loading sign then it says please reboot your computer I've done it like 3 times and keep getting it, the support site says nothing about that
     
  10. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #10
    hmm flumoxed then - are you holding the C key from the moment you power on the mac or are you waiting any time?

    (sorry if thats a noob question but I have to ask).

    As long as the MAC OS X Install disk 1 is in the drive and its not damaged, the Mac should boot from it.

    Bit lost what to suggest otherwise
     
  11. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11
    Are you holding down the c key while rebooting? ( doing three things at once, hold c key down shove cd in while booting up )

    edit bunny beat me to it
     
  12. tkc0mand3r thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #12
    Yes I boot the computer, put cd in hold down 'c' and usualyl when it would run straight to windows xp a mac symbol comes to the screen with a little loading sign...it loads for about 2 minutes then the screen turns grey and says "you need to restart you computer" in like 5 different languages.
     
  13. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #13
    What as in ?

    Picture 2.png

    If so that's a kernel panic, have you installed any RAM lately? can you post a log?
     

Share This Page