messenger for mac help!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by babsvii, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. babsvii macrumors regular

    babsvii

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    :confused: i downloaded messenger for mac... and the screen is up with all my contacts but the beach ball keeps spinning and not letting me do anything... i cant even get out of it... help... what do i do???
     
  2. nadyne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA USA
    #2
    What version of Messenger? Where did you get it? How big is your contact list?

    First thing to do is make sure that you're using the latest and greatest, which is 7.0.2. You can download it directly from us at Mactopia.

    Regards,
    Nadyne.
     
  3. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #3
    To get out of it control click on the dock icon and go to "force quit". If that's not available, control click on the icon, press and hold "alt" and then click "force quit". Failing that, go to Applications > Utilities > Activity Monitor and select Messenger, and at the top click the stop sign looking thing.

    Restart the program and try again. If it doesn't work, download again. :)
     
  4. zeeflyboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    #4
    I'm having a weird problem with messenger on my new macbook pro... and i'm an apple virgin so having trouble sorting it.

    When i type something in the dialog box, then hit enter to send it, it deselects the dialog box so i have to click on it again before i can start typing - it's quite irritating.

    Any ideas?
     
  5. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #5
    Its because of Safari 4.

    IDK why, but Microsoft will release an update in about 18 months.
     
  6. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #6
    I wouldn't even bother with it, tbh.

    Download Adium.

    It's ugly.. but, Google this:

    "Adium iChat skin"

    and it will make it look very purdy, like iChat :)
     
  7. zeeflyboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    #7
    that would explain why it started happening suddenly then...

    Cheers - i'll give adium a try too
     
  8. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #8
  9. nadyne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA USA
    #9
    It's a WebKit bug, and has been fixed in subsequent nightly builds of WebKit. We'll have to wait until Apple releases a new version of Safari 4 (either beta or final) that includes a version of WebKit that doesn't have this issue.

    Regards,
    Nadyne.
     

Share This Page