Metax tagging problem - new VH settings?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by MLC4SGR, May 14, 2008.

  1. MLC4SGR macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #1
    I just finished transferring some files in VisualHub with the new Apple TV 5.1 and AAC settings and some of the .mov files are not showing up properly tagged in iTunes after using Metax. Never had any issues before.
     
  2. Oilbrnr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #2
    YES! :mad:

    Specifically, the cover art is not showing up. Also, two other .mov files from VH just completely crash MetaX about 5 seconds into tagging.

    I emailed the error dump, along with the contents of a startup dialog box error that has occurred since a couple of rev's ago, to the MetaX developer, with no response so far.

    I have yet to try and fix the cover art error other than with MetaX's iTunes tag edit feature, which has no effect.

    I guess for now I'm back to HB.
     
  3. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #3
    Why are encoding into .Mov & not .Mp4?

    .Mov's can't handle Meta Data very well.
     
  4. Oilbrnr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #4
    That is what VH is exporting them as, with 5.1 and AAC.
     
  5. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
  6. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #6
    Ah I see .Mp4 can't do 5.1 AC-3 I don't think as I tried in both HandBrake & VisualHub & it wouldn't play the sound right, Apple should help the community by expanding the capabilities of .Mp4.
     
  7. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    Huh? HandBrake 0.9.2 does mp4 with 5.1 AC3 just fine. In fact its exactly the same as the apple mp4's <confused>. In fact its in the built in appleTV preset. Make sure you use the .m4v iTunes friendly extension so the atv will recognize the ac3 track.
     
  8. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #8
    I'll have to tweak my settings as I keep getting errors with 5.1 AC-3 in HandBrake & VisualHub, I'll play around with it now & see what I can do.

    But it can't handle both 5.1AC-3 & AAC right.
     
  9. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #9
    Of course it does. It is the exact same implementation as the HD apple rentals. Have you used the built in AppleTV preset yet ? It shows AAC + AC3 and is talked about on these forums as well as the HandBrake forums.
     
  10. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #10
    If you are asking for both 5.1 AC3 and 5.1 AAC in the same file, I do not believe Handbrake .9.2 can do this... the next version should, but I've never attempted it.
     
  11. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #11
    It must be I have a bad install, I'll uninstall & reinstall later & have another go and see if it works this time.
     
  12. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #12
    Ah, I didn't realize you wanted 5.1 6 channel discrete aac with 5.1 DD AC3. Odd but you can do it with the dev snapshot http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=6059

    0.9.2 will use dpl2 for the aac track.
     
  13. MLC4SGR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #13
    In case anyone cares since this post got sidetracked, I actually transferred the files in question into iTunes and obviously nothing shows up (no artwork or info ) ..but I simply went into get Info panel in iTunes and changed the name of the file to the full name of the movie.. and oddly enough EVERYTHING appeared..
     
  14. Benicio10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #14
    wow thanks for the tip. I just did that and everything appeared for me too ... everything except the movie rating. how do i get that to pop up next to the title?
     

Share This Page