Meteorologist menubar app not working? [Working again!!!]

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bengtc, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. bengtc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #1
    Does anyone else have this app and is it working for you?
     
  2. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #2
    It's working fine for me. What's it doing on yours?
     
  3. bengtc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #3
    its not loading i am just getting the question mark.

    I just deleted it, with the plst file and reinstalled it and it still is not loading the weather for cupertino, CA
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    As I write this, my installation also displays a question mark. I presume that the server is down.

    Hey, it happens. There is no need to sacrifice a virgin.
     
  5. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    Mine is still working. I even made it do an automatic refresh just now, just to see if it was stuck on the old image and it refreshed fine. Have you tried a different zip code, just to make sure it's not just the source yours is drawing information from?
     
  6. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #6
    It's working now, but for a couple of hours earlier today it was just showing "unknown".

    It does that, from time to time, whenever it cannot connect to its server(s).

    Edit: I might have spoken too soon...it still works, and updates here at home, on sites I already had up from yesterday, but when I try to retrieve the weather from a new place (already in the City switcher, but unchecked, it fails). Hmmm... doesn't show the question mark, but hasn't actually gotten any new info since Monday the 11th...

    Edit 2: Seems there has been a change at weather.com, again, but someone's on the case: http://sourceforge.net/projects/heat-meteo/forums/forum/268087/topic/1835421?message=7998728
     
  7. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #7
    Yeah, I've also been getting gray question marks on Meteo lately. I hope they fix it!
     
  8. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #8
  9. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #9
    ...either that or a manual patch, typically editing some text file within the app itself... ;)
     
  10. c3cummins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #10
    meteorologist

    :( My meteorologist application quit yesterday. Get a grey circle with a question mark.
     
  11. marcre macrumors regular

    marcre

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    East coast
    #11
    Mine quit working yesterday I believe. I hop they fix it. I like this app. I used to have weatherpop, but it was abandoned by its creators. I hope that doesn't happen to "meteorologist" as well.
     
  12. iphowner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    #12
    Same here :(

    This is not the first time it happens...I remember that last year a user released a patch to fix the changes made by the site (which seems to be constantly in evolution...damn!).
     
  13. marcre macrumors regular

    marcre

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    East coast
    #13
    hopefully it gets fixed, but in case it doesn't, are there any other options out there?

    anyone have any news on this?
     
  14. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #14
  15. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
  16. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
  17. acurafan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #17
    looks like weather.com, accuweather links are kaput again. :(
     
  18. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #18
    Yep... Accuweather broke Weather Vane. I emailed the dev and he is working on a fix.

    Meanwhile,, I found freeware MenuWeather that seems to work quite well. Very similar to Weather Vane.
     
  19. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #19
    Meterologist is working just fine here.
     

Share This Page