Metric iPhone instead of Imperial

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by carlosbutler, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. carlosbutler macrumors 6502a

    carlosbutler

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    London City
    #1
    I was wondering if there was a way of changing the units that the phone uses for things such as Google Maps from Imperial to Metric.

    I'm fed up with useless Miles as its not accurate at all and I dont understand feet and yards and when the sat nav software is available i would like proper measurements

    Thanks
    Carlos
     
  2. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Dont think so (unless you chance the country on it), the UK uses miles for distance so that is what is shown, the same as road signs in the uk

    Not quite sure why you think miles are inacurate
     
  3. JohnFa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #3
    Hmm. I have a Canadian iPhone 3G which I use in Sweden but I get mine in metric. Have you set it up region format under General -> International to England?
     
  4. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    If you set the region to UK you get miles, that is what we use here
     
  5. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
  6. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I assume Australia uses Metric ?

    UK uses imperial
     
  7. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #7
    Yep. UK uses a weird mix though, metric for the weather but imperial for distance.
     
  8. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    you can't change it, unless as stated, you change your location

    sat nav apps are controlled separately, you can chose miles/km in the app; but in terms of sat-nav miles would be better, as that is what the UK roads use. signs display distances and speeds in miles, and junction warning signs are all in yards

    also, miles, yards, feet and inches are just as accurate as metres etc, they just aren't using a base of 10
     
  9. EX1127 macrumors 6502

    EX1127

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #9
    I wish we could all go to one form of measurement like we have gone to one calender... That would be so nice
     
  10. carlosbutler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    carlosbutler

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    London City
    #10
    the reason it isnt as accurate is because it doesnt use a decimal system. ie 1km = 1000m = 100000cm etc. 1mile = 5,280 feet.

    you get a 'quarter mile' but unless you are in New York and travel one block - you wont have a clue what that looks like. same as a ounces, fluid ounces stone...
     
  11. EX1127 macrumors 6502

    EX1127

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #11
    haha i know this i would gladly go to metrics. Im a Biomedical Engineer student. Its so hard to remember all of this and do imperial outside of labs and then metrics when im doing school work :( ... I just want one to prevail and that be it
     
  12. carlosbutler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    carlosbutler

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    London City
    #12
    i was actually going to mention that engineering in this country they use the proper system - metric. i think U.S.A must be one of, if not the only country to use imperial in engineering and construction.

    luckily im doing computer science/artificial intelligence, so no measurements for me:D
     
  13. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Can you elaborate a bit more, i am still failing to see how it is less accurate

    Cheers
     
  14. blancoBronco macrumors 6502a

    blancoBronco

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    South Tampa
    #14
    How are miles not accurate? u "non-Americans" need to suck it up. we made the phone, ur gonna use are system of measurement. god forbid u people broaden ur horizens
     
  15. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #15
    Ignorant post of the day.
     
  16. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #16
    I understand your point, but that's not what the word "accurate" means.

    You've confused some people here by using a word in the wrong way. Although I think you explained yourself quite well, so I'm not sure why they're still confused.
     
  17. Baron58 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    #17
    :mad:

    Actually, China made the phone, if you want to get technical about it.

    The problem is that the iPhone does not let you set your units choice separate from your locale. If you are in the UK, and you set your locale to the UK, then you get miles for distance measurements with no other choice. Same thing if you are in the US and wish to use metric... you have no choice. It has nothing to do with 'non-Americans'. God forbid you use your brain before you post and make yourself look like an ass.
     
  18. carlosbutler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    carlosbutler

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    London City
    #18
    Actually Foxconn in Taiwan made the phone. And the main designer is Jonathan Ive who is English.

    I completely agree that the English culture and English people do not necessarily like change and most people I speak to at university are 'British this' and 'British that...'. But it is actually YOU that need to advance and adapt to using the most common format in the world.

    P.S. We 'made' the English language, so if you are going to speak/type it please do so properly. As a matter of fact we also colonised America.
     
  19. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #19
    it was designed in the US...

    how is imperial less acurate than metric?

    i do not have near the understanding of how fast 45km/hr is or 8m/s as i do if it was listed in mph

    i dont have a good feel for 30deg C as i do with 59F

    1.8m? or 5 foot 7"

    im glad its imperial

    designed and manufatured is an important difference which you dont seem to grasp

    Ive the main designer? for what, the white plastic? as its surely not any of the technical stuff

    metric wont be adopted anytime soon in the US. you will just have to cope
     
  20. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    lol at how things are in the uk

    I agree on mph and feet/inches, but i can only understand temperature in centigrade
     
  21. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #21
    I'm totally the opposite. Imperial measurements mean nothing to me.

    I'm glad it's metric.

    What an age we live in where something can be both.
     
  22. Maverick713 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #22
    Yup

    As far as I know we are the lone standout for better or worse :)
     
  23. carlosbutler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    carlosbutler

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    London City
    #23
    im not saying that the U.S.A should change. im not really saying anyone should change. but its ridiculous that two of the most important nations of the world should be different to everyone else in this respect. no one is going to change to imperial, the name even sounds old. but i would most certainly prefer that this country would change though.

    yeah totally agree


    the only reason you understand those measurements is because you have grown up with them and are used to them. if they stopped using imperial all children born would then get used to that. thats how it works. there is always a generation or two that would experience the change.

    the same applied when many countries changed to the Euro. and thank god they did since the Euro only lowered in value a tiny bit, by one or two cents compared to the GBP which was just unbelievable.
     
  24. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #24
    This thread has gotten really stupid. Apple is an American company, but they're not trying to force anyone to use the iPhone in a strictly "American" way.

    As for the accuracy of the two different systems, neither can be said to be more "accurate" because they are just measuring the exact same thing and coming up with the exact same distance. They just call it something different.

    Would you argue that the Chinese language is more "accurate" than English or French or Russian? I wouldn't, but you could use the same, flawed logic you're using to make the argument that it is.
     
  25. Maverick713 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #25
    but don't you like how he substituted are for our :D must be from NY cause it has to be the accent
     

Share This Page