Microsoft Breaks Internet (again)

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by bigandy, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #1
    BBC


    I'm mostly intrigued by the "integral part of it's forthcoming Windows 7" part. I thought they were stopping that because of antitrust suits.


    Oh well. :rolleyes:
     
  2. steve2112 macrumors 68040

    steve2112

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    East of Lyra, Northwest of Pegasus
    #2
  3. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #3
    How does this have anything to do with the thread title, "Microsoft Breaks Internet"?
     
  4. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #4
    That's what I'm wondering. I thought they really broke it or something.
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    Anytime a new version of IE comes out, a huge number of websites, all with proper coding stop working, therefore, people like me in Tech Support get hundreds of calls saying "the Internet is broken" when come to find out their favorite website doesn't work with the new IE.

    TEG
     
  6. AppleMatt macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Misleading title. I thought we were looking at another Cisco source code theft or something along those lines.

    Thanks for the tip though, I'll update my partners computer.

    AppleMatt
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I'm not impressed so far. Like 7, it looks like a Vista app even when running on XP. However, even more annoying is the "compatibility view". Since MS has made the engine a lot more standards compliant, they've added CV as a way to use the old IE 7 engine on sites that don't support 8. The problem I have is that as soon as I open a site, I get a little balloon saying "If this site doesn't look right then click here to switch to compatibility view". Am I going to keep getting this for every single site?! :eek:
     
  8. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #8
    +1. Having worked in a tech support position when IE7 came out, we dealt with that all the time.

    This will break a ton of sites that look fine in IE7, just like IE7 broke a ton of sites in IE6. And now web developers everywhere will have to update their sites so they look fine in IE8. In the meantime, a site coded to XHTML standards looks fine in any version of Firefox or Safari :rolleyes:
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Can someone please go to www.odc.govt.nz and see whether the dropdown menus up the top work? On my system I'm just getting white rectangles!

    Edit: Apparently it's not just me.
     
  10. FX120 macrumors 65816

    FX120

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #11
    Uh, that is a review of the beta software from over 6 months ago.

    I am running the final version of IE 8 on another computer with a few tabs open, it is sitting at 200MB right now.
     
  11. Melrose Suspended

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #12
    Is that Version Targeting? I haven't seen it in action yet so I don't know how they implemented it.

    I really would like to see (and this is completely unrealistic, I realize) IEn fail so miserably it's got a user percentage less than Netscape 4. I don't use it except for testing, and when I tried it in the Win7 beta, I was surprised at how hard to use it was.

    ...and allowing the user to uninstall it from their new Windows system isn't right either imo - the antitrust lawyers should have forced M$ to either dual-install and dual-promote Firefox, or make it plain English the security flaws of & how to uninstall IE.
     
  12. bigandy thread starter macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #13
    I bet you won't be able to remove it completely. The word "integrated" surely wouldn't be used if that were the case.

    [​IMG]

    I'm glad two people got what I was on about in the thread title.

    IE is horrific for rendering. It's too compliant with it's own standards. :rolleyes:

    No point in rushing to update a computer to IE8 - you need to ensure it'll work with the sites you need to visit first.
     

Share This Page