Microsoft fail

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by KnightWRX, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #1
    No seriously... :confused: Thank god I only have to use that stupid VM for work.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #2
    Out of all my years in IT I've never seen that message lol.
     
  3. dsnort macrumors 68000

    dsnort

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    In persona non grata
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    The question is "move or copy?" and the available answers are Yes and No.

    For what it's worth, I've seen that one too.
     
  5. Stella macrumors 604

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    I despise being told ( in XP ) that I have to close current dialog box before opening another window.

    Your example, and the dialog example is what just frustrates me about windows. At the end of the day its just pure laziness and sloppiness.
     
  6. ChazUK macrumors 603

    ChazUK

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Essex (UK)
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.3; en-gb; Blade Build/FRG83) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

    I absolutely f###!g despise dialog boxes that get lost under other windows, preventing you to do anything (mostly happens in Outlook for me at work).

    I really don't mind using Windows as a whole but some little things really do grate with me.
     
  7. Charlie Sheen macrumors 6502

    Charlie Sheen

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Location:
    Mars
    #7
    Microsoft is so much ahead off apple you see they can even read in your mind wether you want to move or copy.
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    The other day at work I'd typed something and was just on the "down stroke" to the Return key when something popped up in front. So that prompt, whatever it was, got a default action back. I still don't know what it did (or even what app it was from) but it made the hard drive run for a few seconds...
     
  9. KnightWRX thread starter macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #9
    Network folder, I dragged and dropped 2 files to my destkop (Mac habit I guess).

    I guess no one at Microsoft bothers to test out drag and drop.

    Of course, Q&A could just grep for MessageBox() and read if the lpText and uType parameters match. In this case, MB_YESNO wasn't quite up to snuff. Of course, this particular question should've used a custom dialogbox since MessageBox() does not have a proper type for it.
     
  10. elistan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Denver/Boulder, CO
    #10
    It's not asking if you want to perform a move operation or a copy operation. It's asking if you want to perform the operation, whatever it is, from one zone to another. Which has security implications - it's part of the Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration component.
     
  11. Chappers macrumors 68020

    Chappers

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Location:
    At home
  12. KnightWRX thread starter macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #12
    So you're saying this is not a confusing question ? :confused:

    If it really is what you're saying, I think the question would have been clearer as "Do you want to perform move and copy operations from this zone ?" Then at least it becomes a YES/NO question. As it stands, it really seems the dialog is asking whether you want to move or copy, then giving you yes and no as choices. No matter the intention, this is a big usability fail.
     
  13. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #13
    Looks like you hit some small error message that very few people EVER EVER see.

    My guess it that it was a type-o in the message box. Now the coder who programmed it might not of see typo because well he made it so saw what should of been there.

    Then it goes into beta testing and blackbox testing. Those tester since it was a small relatively rarely seen mistake it did not get reported so gets put in the gold master.
    When it was found might be pretty hard to find that one little block of code to go back and change it. I bet it was a slight mistake on the original coder and just never was caught.
    I also am willing to bet good money Apple has some stupid message boxes that pop up like that but no one ever really see them because of how rare they are so it never been caught.
     
  14. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #14
    Yep, that's exactly what it is. I get it all the time when copying files from our network share at work to my local desktop. I was having trouble figuring out what the fail was.
     
  15. KnightWRX thread starter macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #15
    The fail was all of us expecting Move and Copy buttons instead of Yes and No of course. :rolleyes:

    The question itself is confusing. Looks like an non-english speaker wrote it.
     
  16. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #16
    This goes back a ways - I'm not sure if it was XP or even 98 (like I said, a while back) but the program that was running crashed and a dialogue box popped up that said: "You're not supposed to see me" with "ok" as the action.

    If not for a friend being there to bear witness, I would have questioned ever seeing that dialogue box. :D
     
  17. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    For one company it's an exception to the rule. For another it's endemic to the way they approach interface design. Guess which is which.
     
  18. ender land macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #18
    I've found some really funny excel errors when using some advanced VBA.

    99.99% of excel users probably never encounter them =P I wish I had saved screenshots of them as some of them were equally funny in terms of "WTF does this mean?"
     
  19. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #20
    While the question could be more clearly worded I don't think there is anything inherently wrong with it. Part of the problem is assuming it is an either/or question and thus automatically reading it only in that way. I didn't get the 'fail' at first either because when I read it I did not interpret it as asking, do I want to perform action A or do I want to perform action B. I read it as do I want to perform either of these two actions.


    Lethal
     
  20. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    It made sence to me. You dragged and dropped some files, it's asking if you're sure you want to copy or move them.

    My 90 year old gran and my 11 year old dumbass brother would understand that. :rolleyes: More of a user fail than a Microsoft fail.
     
  21. KnightWRX thread starter macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #22
    I dragged and dropped some files. It's suddenly asking me whether I want to move OR copy some files. What would be the result of a drag and drop ? A move or a copy ? I don't know, I don't use Windows enough.

    Maybe it's all clear to Windows users, but it's not intuitive. To me, it was asking whether I wanted to move or copy those files since a drag and drop could result in either operations.

    If it just wanted to generally know if I wanted to allow such an operations from this zone, they should have used the "move and copy operations" form of the question, which then makes it a clear Yes/No question.

    Next time I'll just copy/cut and paste. It'll save all of us the trouble of arguing over a badly worded sentence some of you can't seem to admit to.
     
  22. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    I think this what I got on my Vista laptop this morning is a finer example on why Microsoft fail at times.

    [​IMG]

    It took over an hour to copy 14mb of documents from my USB 2 memory stick.
     
  23. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #24
    Its actually a security setting, because your networked drive is a different security zone then the destination folder. All its doing is alerting you that being different zones, inferring that there could be a risk with the source files.
     
  24. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #25
    As others have said, the question is whether you want to perform the action at all, not which you want to perform. It's lazy programming from Microsoft because they should have had separate messages for copy and move (i.e. Do you want to copy... and Do you want to move...), but I've never personally found it much of a problem because I know what I wanted to do (i.e. copy or move) before the message came up so I've always just read it as a confirmation question
     

Share This Page