Microsoft office 2008?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by crispymacuser, Jan 5, 2008.

1. crispymacuser macrumors newbie

Im really confused now. I was going to see if the current macbook was going to get a ram/hd update and then i found out microsoft office 2008 is coming out. Everyones going on about lack of macros, but I rarely use excel, so this is no problem for me. Is this the only problem because if so I'll buy it, but i cant decide whether to buy iwork 08 instead. im a student and am 15 and so i transfer files between school and work, so compatibility is a must, as i want this laptop to last me for a long time. Please help

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

I recommend iWork, as its really easy and light. It also does everything a student in your position needs. Exporting to PDF keeps everything looking the same, but no editing on the other end. Transferring Word documents with complex layouts both ways with changes at either end won't look quite right though.

3. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack

Pages in iWork 08 can export as a Word .doc but sometimes when I export documents and email them, they can't be opened and read by the recipient using Word.

So unfortunately I would have to recommend Office .... :(

4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

This Office 2008 and macro thing has really got me a bit lost and I've been watching what documents I have to open mainly now for work that may give me the prompt about macros. I have yet to see more than a couple of instances when Office 04 tells me that there are macros on the page. I have to ask where because it doesn't make sense. Regardless, it's made me weary of 2008. That said, I think 2008 will be fine for you and you can save an iWork document in the format that can be opened in Office, but it is not the default save setting.