Microsoft Office 2011 - Excel Really Slow!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by SuperMacbook, Feb 4, 2015.

1. SuperMacbook, Feb 4, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2015

SuperMacbook macrumors newbie

So I just recently switched from Windows to Mac, and I've not looked back yet, I love my Mac. I only just bought it - roughly a month ago and I also bought Microsoft Office 2011 since I'm a uni student.

Fast forward a couple of weeks later to now where I'm "attempting" to use Office heavy since I have a thesis to write but Excel especially is so unresponsive! Opening an existing file takes 5 mins, and then even clicking a new cell the whole programme freezes for a good 2/3 minutes. Trying to even write forumlas or draw graphs or anything takes 10 minutes to do one action.

I tried googling the problem and came up with nothing. Got in touch with Apple support via chat and the guy told me to uninstall office and reinstall it again, which I done last night and still it hasn't worked - the problems still there. I spoke to another guy today - and he said its a windows problem? Whatever it is, it's annoying me since I need to write my thesis and waiting 10 minutes to do one action is a pain! Word seems fine however when copying graphs from Excel into Word or Powerpoint, it just freezes for 10 mins. I have no idea what the problem is ?!

EDIT: Forgot to write - I have a late 2014 Macbook pro retina, running yosemite 10.10.2.. and I've checked if everything's updated and it is.

2. sracer macrumors 603

sracer

I have the same experience. I chalked it up to the general bloat of MS Office for Mac.

3. SuperMacbook thread starter macrumors newbie

BUMP!

Anyone? Issue is still persisting. I've posted a thread on the windows for mac office aswell but still nothing's worked so far :/

4. liya1201 macrumors member