Microsoft office 2011

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Catloverwrestler, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. Catloverwrestler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I just purchased a new MacBook pro about 2 weeks ago and got Microsoft office 2011 with it. My question is, when I switch from snow leopard to lion will I have to buy Microsoft office 2011 again?
     
  2. monaarts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #2
    Lol. Did you get an illegal copy? If you just upgrade you will be fine.
     
  3. Catloverwrestler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    No I got the copy that I bought from apple.com, with my MacBook Pro. So all I have to do is upgrade from snow leopard to lion and it will still be there?
     
  4. Steve's Barber macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #4
    No. Your copy of office 2011 will work fine with Lion. Just like it did with Snow Leopard.

    And if you're asking whether it's legal, well yes. Just because you upgrade your OS doesn't mean all your application licenses are void.

    Added:

    Yes. The Lion upgrade will not overwrite anything... just the OS.

    That said, always backup first.
     
  5. Catloverwrestler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Ok thank you so much.
     
  6. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #6
    Mine is working fine.

    The question is whether it will support Lion full screen features or not.
     
  7. PsyD4Me macrumors 6502a

    PsyD4Me

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    under your bed
    #7
    after my upgrade I had to reinstall office 2011 because that's what Lion told me. It just would not load.
     
  8. Eradik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #8
    I'm hoping Microsoft updates it soon, but I have a sinking feeling that it won't be soon (if ever / til next version)
     
  9. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #9
    Or AutoSave... Or Versions... Or... :rolleyes:
     
  10. rickhorn macrumors member

    rickhorn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #10
    I upgraded from Snow Leopard to Lion this morning and I'm using MS Office 2011. I gotta tell you that you do not need to reinstall MS Office. All are kept as well as they were under Snow Leopard.

    There are no "Autosave" and "Version" features on MS Office 2011, as of yet. Wait for the update.
     
  11. liya1201 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #11
    Was there any trouble to re-activate office 2011 after reinstall? Thx!
     
  12. Eradik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #12
    None for me, and I've reinstalled it 3 times in the past week. All 3 times it activated with my key no problem.
     
  13. PsyD4Me macrumors 6502a

    PsyD4Me

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    under your bed
    #13
    no, but I assume that reactivation "wastes" one of your licenses. I have the student version which can be installed on 3 machines....
     

Share This Page