microsoft office

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ptruong31, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. ptruong31 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #1
    Hello guys, new to macs here. I just got a high end 2011 mbp 15". I still haven't gotten rid of my hp laptop because of microsoft office. I need it to make powerpoints, word documents, excel sheets and etc.

    I can either..

    bootcamp windows 7 on my mac...and not spend any money on windows 7 or microsoft office... but I don't want to have to switch between windows and mac all the time just to use microsoft office. so i might eventually get parallels or something

    or should i just purchase microsoft office for mac?

    I only intend to use windows 7 to play starcraft 2. '

    what do you guys think i should do?
     
  2. Btrthnezr3 macrumors 6502a

    Btrthnezr3

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have MS Office on my Mac and I love it. Works great and haven't had any comparability problems at all.
     
  3. Cr0nus macrumors member

    Cr0nus

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Boston / LA
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    Office 11. It's good software, and after a year of bootcamping it for Office 07, it was definitely worth the price. You should be able to get it for less than $70 with the education price.
     
  5. adnoh macrumors 6502a

    adnoh

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
  6. Martyimac macrumors 6502a

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #6
    I agree, works fine on my laptop and macpro. Put another way, if you compared how well Microsoft brought Office to the Mac with how well Intuit brought Quicken to the mac, the difference is nite and day. MS did a pretty good job with Office. Intuit didn't.
     
  7. wingsabr macrumors 6502

    wingsabr

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    SC2 runs great on the high end with textures on ultra and graphics at medium. I ended up getting office for Mac '11 is a worthy upgrade.

    Edit: I have the 17in and play SC2 on 1680 x1050. You will surely get a few more fps if you play at 1440 on the 15.
     
  8. wingsabr macrumors 6502

    wingsabr

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    SC2 runs great on the high end with textures on ultra and graphics at medium. I ended up getting office for Mac '11 is a worthy upgrade.
     
  9. Buck987 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #9
    Office 2011 for Mac on three machines and no issues anywhere.
     
  10. chrisvee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #10
    Yup, Office for Mac 2011 work very well. All I need now is OneNote for Mac, but Word's Notebook Layout View seems to suffice for now. :p
     
  11. Whitelightning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #11
    A PC user like yourself, I plan to put both Office 2011 on Mac side and put 2010 on the bootcamp windows side to get both worlds.

    The 2010 one is much more comfortable to use I think and using it in a windows environment feels more natural and easy especially with multiple windows.

    Remember, you can't resize windows apart form the bottom right corner in mac, and compared to WIndows 7, there is no "snap/autoresize to half of the screen" when you move the window towards a side or corner.
     

Share This Page