Microsoft Remote Desktop,RDC,CoRD technical difficulties.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MacChinoNyc, Nov 8, 2013.

  1. MacChinoNyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #1
    I'm new to mac but doubt this is even a mac issue, not sure. I tried Microsoft remote desktop to connect to my windows laptop and I get a connection refused. I tried Microsoft remote desktop connection for mac and I get "You were disconnected from the windows-based computer because of network problems", I tried CoRD and get "couldnt connect to <windows ip> The connection timed out".

    I enabled remote connections on the windows pc, I added the workgroup name to the mac's network settings. I can ping both ways and get replys both ways.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I can't help you with RDC, but you have alternatives.
    There's Logmein, Teamviewer and gotomypc.

    As for your issues, it may be related to your version of windows, and/or having the remote services set up properly.
     
  3. MacChinoNyc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #3
    Is there a more specialized Mac site for networking?
     
  4. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #4
    You running firewall on the Windows machine? While ping may work to it you need to instantiate a session to port 3389 for RDC to work.
     
  5. MacChinoNyc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #5
    I disabled firewall, how can I connect to port 3389?
     
  6. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #6
    The RDC client should use 3389 as it's default. By disabling the firewall and trying to connect with the client it should tell you if that was the issue...
     
  7. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #7
    I was using coRD and now MS Remote Desktop successfully to connect to various windows versions starting from W2000 and up. Just make sure that:

    1. Windows Firewall is not blocking this specific connection
    2. Telnet Services service is started on the windows machine
    3. "Allow others to connect to my desktop" (or whatever it is called) is enabled on the windows side (this stands for some windows versions, not all)
     
  8. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #8
    Telnet service on the Windows machine isn't needed for RDP, just a FYI.
     
  9. cool11 macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #9
    Microsoft Remote Desktop connection problem - windows 8.1

    wrong post
     

Share This Page