Microsoft Remote Desktop - Windows 8.1 specific

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by cool11, Nov 19, 2013.

  1. cool11 macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #1
    I use to connect with this program
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=18140
    all years, even now in mavericks, from my mac, to my pc.
    No problems till now.

    Now that I have upgraded my pc, in windows 8.1, I cannot see the remote desktop of my pc on my mac.
    I alternatively used, this new one microsoft application too
    https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/84...remote-desktop
    but none of them worked.

    I am quite sure that it is not a mac problem, but something is going on with windows 8.1.
    Because I made an upgrade from previous win 8 installation and not a completely new installation, this means that windows kept all my settings, application etc, and this is true.
    I say this, because all the appropriate settings in my mac and pc, was made years ago. (network settings in pc, sharing, local policies, enabling remote connections etc). So, it is useless to look at web pages prior to win 8.1 circulation.
    It seems that there is a new restriction in win 8.1 that blocks my mac from seeing remote desktop. I looked at windows firewall, I permit remote sessions there.

    Of course, teamviewer works fine, and 'cord' almost fine(I have not mouse support for some reason, but I can see pc desktop).
    I also want to say, that I can connect through 'finder' and share files with pc. (These setups made years ago, and work fine).
    But the best choice is microsoft's application, for several reasons.

    So can you please guide me to find out what prevents me to connect remotely to win 8.1 pc?
     
  2. buckstah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    #2
    Which version of Windows 8 are you using? Certain versions do not allow you to Remote Desktop in.
     
  3. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
  4. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Try the Microsoft Remote Desktop client from the Mac App Store. It supersedes the 2.x version and has much better performance.
     
  5. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #5
  6. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    You need to describe EXACTLY what is going on when you try to connect, and also list your remote access settings in Windows.
     
  7. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    For some reason the links you originally posted do not work.

    Does it log anything in the Console when it fails?
     
  8. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
  9. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #9
  10. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #10
    I make software update in my mac, everyday.
    Today, microsoft released a new version of 'remote desktop' which plays fine.
    Problem solved!
     

Share This Page