Mid 2007 Macbook Pro (C2D) - How much memory will register?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LinMac, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #1
    I've read the guides and I am almost certain of the answer, but before I spend the better part of $200 on a memory upgrade I would still like to know if the system will register the full 4GB and not just 3.3GB.

    Running Leopard and Debian AMD64 if that matters. :)
     
  2. Jian001 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #2
    Hi there,

    I've got a Santa Rosa Macbook Pro and recently upgraded to 4 gigs of RAM. Yes, it does register the full load - with Tiger or Leopard and can be seen in the About this Mac and Activity Monitor.

    I purchased my RAM from CanadaRAM.com - they have been superb with their service!

    Regards,
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    If it is the Santa Rosa chipset (2.2, 2.4 GHz) then it will use the full 4 Gb. If it is the Core2Duo prior to the Santa Rosa (2.16, 2.33 GHz) then it will register 4 in the System Profiler but only use 3.3Gb
     
  4. galstaph macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #4
    My sr mbp registers 4gb quite easily... only regret is that I didn't wait a month to get the ram, Canadian dollar goes up, price of ram goes down... coulda saved some cash... oh well. I recommend owc, they were very prompt (overnight to canada!) and good price (now at $159:eek: [I paid 229:( in late sept]) to boot:D
     

Share This Page