Mid 2010 Heat & Sleep

Discussion in 'iMac' started by icharry, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. icharry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #1
    My new mid 2010 27 inch quad i7 is super hot even when it is asleep? Is that normal? Also what temps are normal? I tried iStat Pro & Temperature Monitor and get different readings... after a night of sleep CPU is 53 centigrade Drive is same, GPU is 60.
     
  2. Spike88 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #2
    My wife has new mid-2010 21.5" i3 3.2 system with its fans set to minimum 1600/1700 RPMs. It's temps "while idle for 8 hours last night" are below

    [​IMG]

    When its "worked", I seen its internal temps rise to high 50s... Then, its temps soon settle back down.

    Hopefully, others can take share pictures of their iMac internal temps (for both screen sizes and different CPUs) as well. Thus, allowing us to collect "real world" stats. And, understand "temp behaviour" of different systems.

    .
     
  3. wkw macrumors 6502

    wkw

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    #3
    have you checked to see if any processes are running all night?
     
  4. icharry thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #4
    If I put it in sleep - does that not kill everything?
     
  5. Crunch macrumors 6502

    Crunch

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    L.A.
    #5
    May I ask where you got this very handy temp gauging tool??? That's exactly what I'm looking for. :)

    Thanks!
     
  6. Spike88 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #6
    Hi Crunch.

    The little internal temp gauge I used is called iStats Nano. It's a little FREE (Shareware) widget - that's available from Apple Download site. If wondering, this little widget has heat, FAN RPMs, memory, CPU and lots of other little cool gauges.

    For a look-see, surf: http://www.apple.com/downloads/dashboard/status/istatnano.html

    For print screen, I hold down the CMD + Shift+ #4 keys. Then, I use the mouse pointer to mark the screen capture area - to print as a .PRN file on the desktop.

    Good luck....

    .
     

Share This Page