Mid 2010 Macbook Pro not accepting 8 gb Ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bradonf333, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. bradonf333 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #1
    Hi guys, i just got 2 x 4gb sticks of ram and when i put both sticks in my Mid 2010 MBP it got stuck at the loading screen. So i took out 1 of the 4 gb sticks and put 1 of my 2 gb sticks that came stock and it worked just fine. Computer boots up and reads the 6 gb of ram. I got the ram from best buy:
    PNY - Optima 2-Pack 4GB (8GB Total) PC3-10666 DDR3 SoDIMM Laptop Memory Kit
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/pny-optima-2-pack-4gb-8gb-total-pc3-10666-ddr3-sodimm-laptop-memory-kit/4816107.p?id=1218533332124&skuId=4816107&st=pny%20ram&cp=1&lp=4
    Has anyone else experienced this before? Is there something that i'm missing?
     
  2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
  3. jonochui macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    #3
    I had the same problem recently and there is a post about it. So the Mid-2010 are picky. I don't if it is all the MacBooks that have PC3-8500 modules (like the Mid-2010) are picky as well. One solution is flash one of the sticks to 1066 MHz. Another solution is to return and get the exact RAM speed. Sorry for the bad news. I was bummed about it too.
     
  4. bradonf333 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #4
    Yes... After a ton of researching I just found that out. (didnt see your post till after all my research, of course!) What did you end up doing? At my local best buy they dont have any ram that is only 1066 mhz. All the ram they have do both 1066 and 1333 mhz. I looked into flashing the ram, but the only software I could find that works is the Thaiphoon Burner. I got the free copy and got into my ram but it won't let me actually clock it to 1066 mhz unless I buy the full version. I dont want to spend $16 on it w/o knowing it will work for sure. I tried the SPDTool but it doesnt recognize my ram and it looks like its kind of old software. I couldnt find a current website to download it, only some mirror links.
     
  5. sbuntin macrumors member

    sbuntin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Location:
    Portland OR
    #5
  6. jonochui macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    #6
    Well, you can call around local computer repair stores if they have 8 gb PC3-8500 sticks. They would trade you since yours would be faster. I just sold mine and got my money back. What I read, that program works but I chose not to pay more money then I did.
     
  7. someoneoutthere, Oct 13, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2014

    someoneoutthere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Location:
    Land of... 12,000 Lakes.
    #7
  8. bradonf333 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #8
    Awesome! I'll take a look at that. Probably take this other ram back and just get the right kind
     

Share This Page