Mid 2010 macpro help

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Rosecroft, Jun 26, 2015.

  1. Rosecroft macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #1
    I was given a mid 2010 macpro, this thing is maxed out with two solid state drive, 72gigs of ram, a bluray burner, plus a regular DVD burner. Also added are USB 3 and one HDMI output, it also has two DVI outputs. So I turn it on to install the OS, but I'm not getting any video I used the HDMI, I tried two different cables and neither works. Today I'm gonna try a DVI cable. So my question is this, do I need a driver for the HDMI cable to work? And if so will the DVI work, because they are on the same card from what I can tell. The USB 3 ports work cause the mouse I plug in is lit up. do I have to do something entirely different being the hard drives are blank. When I turned on the tower, I held down the control key to boot it. Maybe I'm over looking something, thanks in advance for everyone's help!
     
  2. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
  3. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #3
    It sounds like you have a video card that doesn't have the Mac EFI firmware on it. I've never tried to do a clean install of OS X on a Mac Pro with this type of video card before...
     
  4. Rosecroft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #4
    Yeah I was thinking the same thing, my only hope is the DVI port works, but again I think it's on the same card
     
  5. Rosecroft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #5
    I'm not sure
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    In theory, if the GPU is supported by OS X, you should see something on the screen once the OS X installer is finished loading and you can proceed with installing OS X.

    If you open up the side panel and look or take out the video card, you should be able to make out what kind of GPU it is. It will also definitively tell you if all the video outputs are on the same card.
     
  7. Rosecroft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #7
    Okay I'll do that as well. I'll buy the DVI cord too. And the guy said 'all you need to do is install the OS' yeah right , I thought it's never that easy.
     
  8. Rosecroft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #8
    well i tried a new cord and video card a HD 5450 silent and its not coming on. i don't know what to do now
     
  9. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    You need another card or another Mac for remote installation (target disk mode).
    5450 can work in OS X but not with the installer. It needs patching the driver otherwise it won't work.
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    That's an awfully nice computer to be given for free, especially the 72GB of RAM. But it's also really strange to have included a non-mac video card, especially an HD5450, in a 2010 Mac Pro. I don't really know what to think about all that.

    In any case, what you need to install the OS is a Mac video card, or at least a PC video card flashed with a Mac EFI.
     

Share This Page