Mid-2010 MBP really slowing down

Discussion in 'macOS' started by solidaj, Mar 9, 2013.

1. solidaj macrumors newbie

I've never been a "power user" and until 2011 always worked in environments with Window's based PCs. Luckily I've made the move and my world is full of apples...MBP, iPhone, iPad, and I'm happy.

I'm a writer and user of Photoshop and other Adobe memory intensive software, so I purchased my macbook with an i7 chip and 8gigs of Ram. I upgraded the OS to OSX when it came out a while back.

Lately, response rate is not so good. Sitting and waiting while a rainbow wheel spins is not my idea of what a $3000 laptop should be doing.

It has been suggested to use Onyx and/or Clamx or other types of software to clean up my machine which I have, but not being that heavy of a user, I doubt it had much to do. And still, I'm having problems

So, to the world of Mac experts and veterans out there - what do you suggest?

thanks in advance

2. simsaladimbamba

Open Activity Monitor and go to the System Memory* tab and look for Page Outs and Swap used and report back.

Some 2010 MBPs are reported to support up to 16 GB of RAM, take a look at Advanced Search or MRoogle to find threads about that.

Maybe also think about investing in an SSD, 256 GB can be had for 150 USD nowadays.
    MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD

the guide includes:
    • 0. Identify your MacBook or MacBook Pro
    • 1. Getting a new HDD
    • 2. Guides to replace the internal HDD with a newer one
    • 3. Transferring data from the old HDD to the new HDD
    • 4. Using the optical disk drive (ODD) slot for placing an SSD or HDD inside the MB/P (OPTIBAY)