Mid 2010 MBP Upgrades

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by notafluke, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. notafluke, Dec 4, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2012

    notafluke macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    Crucial for RAM is were I get my memory sticks form...The little app on their site will identify the exact kit for your Mac....I have a late 2011 MBP 17" and took it up to 16GB, quite a hit in performance...I can't recommend and SSD though, as I use a Thunderbolt storage arrangement.

    Crucial:


    http://www.crucial.com
     
  3. skippymac macrumors 6502a

    skippymac

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #3
    I have crucial memory and a crucial M4 SSD in the same model MBP as you. Can recommend both at a big upgrade to the stock machine but have nothing to compare to on the higher end of the spectrum when it comes to SSDs etc. Good luck!
     
  4. notafluke, Dec 4, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2012

    notafluke thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
  5. skippymac macrumors 6502a

    skippymac

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #5
    Did you download the system scanner or use the advisor tool online? The scanner works well.

    Otherwise, this is what I bought
    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/partspecs.aspx?IMODULE=CT2KIT51264BC1067

    2x4GB DDR3 PC3-8500 1066 204 pin. Disclaimers and all that as I'm not an expert but that should be fine.
     
  6. notafluke, Dec 4, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2012

    notafluke thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
  7. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7
    System scanner is the way to go...Apple say that my 17" MBP maxes out at 8GB. It doesn't...It happily uses 16GB and the scanner will ID the max RAm and best kit for you. It examines how much RAM is in the two slots, and gives you kit options...Best way is to use it to ensure you get the right chips.
     
  8. mark cas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    #8
    I have the same matchbook pro, but have always had 8GB ram, I recently put a samsung 256gb ssd in, much better performance and quite cheap from amazon
     

Share This Page