Mid 2011 MBA: Complete recovery

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by stu.h, Feb 19, 2012.

1. stu.h macrumors 65816

stu.h

Afternoon
    As I work in IT for a living, I like to have the tools ready and in place to do things like a reimage should the time arise.
    I've only had this Air for a few weeks now, still finding my feet around MacOS having never used a Mac before (love it btw! :D )

Ive been reading around different places and it seems unclear to me how to go about reimaging this MBA from the ground up.
    Earlier models had USB keys, this has a recovery partition (although only 1GB) some images dont apply to the machine, its all just a bit messy.

Can anyone tell me what I need to do or get to completely wipe this MBA should I need to and put back to the day I bought it?

Thanks in advance, I'll go keep reading in the meantime :confused:

2. DeBilbao macrumors member

DeBilbao

Congratulations. t's much better asking for help before the problems actually appear. Everyone should know how to backup and restore their systems, and with Mac OS X it's really easy.

If you're using only Mac OS X, making regular backup copies using Time Machine is enough for a full recovery in case of a disaster.

To recover the system, you only need to start the Mac from the recovery partition pressing the option key while restarting and choosing the latest Time Machine backup as the source of the system.

You can use this also to reinstall the operating system in a different Mac, just begin the installation of the OS and when prompted, choose the latest Time Machine backup as the source and you'll have your new Mac exactly as your previous computer.

If you're using also Windows in a separate Bootcamp partition you'll need a separate strategy for it. As of version 2.3.3, WinClone is compatible with Mac OS X Lion and will image and restore your Bootcamp partition easily.

:):):)

3. stu.h thread starter macrumors 65816

stu.h

Thanks for the reply, appreciated :D