Mid 2012 Macbook Pro Retina worth it?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Spigz, Aug 25, 2014.

1. Spigz macrumors newbie

I'm a Web Designer and I decided to sell my PC desktop and buy a Macbook Pro because my job is demanding one.

I'm between these 2 refurbished models:
    Mid 2012 - $1,469.00
    Late 2013 - $1,529.00

The 2012 has better price, dedicated GPU, better processor.
    The 2013 has higher cost, integrated GPU, a bit lower processor.

You can get a better look in those Apple Store links.

The thing I'm worried about is screen ghosting in the 2012 version or any other hardware issue that's been improved in the 2013 version, or if there a no big differences at all.
    Do you think it's worth it?

Also, I like a dedicated GPU for casual gaming, that's why I'm liking the 2012 more.

Thanks!

2. bhayes444 macrumors 6502a

I bought my 2012 rMBP refurbed last July and it is a fantastic machine. Any ghosting issues that you could potentially have will be covered under the 1 year warranty Apple gives out to all their machines (refurb or new). If the machine was sent in for that issue, then more than likely the issue is fixed.

A quick pro list I would compare to:
    2012: bit cheaper, discrete GPU
    2013: faster SSD, newer gen processor, updated model

The base RAM is the same, the average screens are on equal levels, the battery life is equivalent (albeit slightly longer on the 2013 model), the processors are fairly equivalent as well.