Mid 2012 quad to 12-core works but fan...

EAguitarshop

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2019
8
0
Corvallis, OR USA
Got hosed by a guy who said he was selling me a 2014 12-core 32gb Pro. It stopped running hours later, dead as a doorknob. Appears to be the motherboard.
I get a quad core mid-2012 from a different guy, runs fine.
When I put the 12-core 3.43 in, it runs fine, but the fans go full blast.
I've zapped the PRAm reset the V. No joy. RAM is all good. Just can't get the fans off. It's running Mojave 10.14.4 no problems, but apparently needs a firmware update that the latest OS upgrade did not deliver.
Only other weird thing is that it says my machine can only write APFS volumes.

Gut-level is that I'll need to go to an earlier OS to get the firmware update, but I'm wide open to suggestions. I'm using this for DAW and Izotope plug-ins are VERY greedy. The quad can do it, but sometimes still red-lines even with 32gb of 1333 RAM.

HELP!?

Thanks, in advance, to any who are able to help.
 

tsialex

macrumors G3
Jun 13, 2016
8,169
8,720
Got hosed by a guy who said he was selling me a 2014 12-core 32gb Pro. It stopped running hours later, dead as a doorknob. Appears to be the motherboard.
I get a quad core mid-2012 from a different guy, runs fine.
When I put the 12-core 3.43 in, it runs fine, but the fans go full blast.
I've zapped the PRAm reset the V. No joy. RAM is all good. Just can't get the fans off. It's running Mojave 10.14.4 no problems, but apparently needs a firmware update that the latest OS upgrade did not deliver.
Only other weird thing is that it says my machine can only write APFS volumes.

Gut-level is that I'll need to go to an earlier OS to get the firmware update, but I'm wide open to suggestions. I'm using this for DAW and Izotope plug-ins are VERY greedy. The quad can do it, but sometimes still red-lines even with 32gb of 1333 RAM.

HELP!?

Thanks, in advance, to any who are able to help.
There isn't a 2014 Mac Pro.

  1. Mac Pro, 2006 = MP1,1
  2. Mac Pro (8-core), 2007 = MP2,1
  3. Mac Pro (early 2008), 2008 = MP3,1
  4. Mac Pro (early 2009), 2009 = MP4,1
  5. Mac Pro mid 2010/mid 2012 = MP5,1
  6. Mac Pro (late 2013),2013 = MP6,1 * current one
The problem with the full blast fan is because early 2009 trays/backplanes are not compatible with mid 2010/mid 2012 trays/backplanes.

early 2009 backplanes and CPU trays have SMC 1.39f5, mid-2010/mid-2012 have SMC 1.39f11. SMC can't be read, dumped, updated, upgraded. So, it's immutable.

You can check the SMC version: SystemInformation>HardwareOverview>SMC Version.
 

EAguitarshop

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2019
8
0
Corvallis, OR USA
Hi sounds like the first mac pro is a 2009 model. Although almost identical the SMC firmware is different so when you put a 2009 CPU boad into a 2010 or 2012 Mac pro the fans wil run full blast.


AFIK you can not upgrade the SMC firmware on these boards, so the only solution is to sell the 2009 CPU board and replace with a 2010 or 2012 board or buy a replacement backplane for the original Mac pro that broke.

The latest Mojave firmwares will only update if you have a Metal compatible GPU installed in the computer, but I don't think this will fix your fan problems.

To clarify, the frame im upgrading is a 5,1 mid 2012. The 12-core tray has 3.43 gz processors. The frame it came from most recently was a 4,1 but the tray had to have been from a newer machine. It DOES run, but the fans go full blast. So the fan issue is the only thing not working right.
PS. The quad core tray is wuiet and runs, but the software is very intensive so even the quad at 3.2 is overloaded at times, which is why im hoping to be able to use the 12-core running at 3.43
 

tsialex

macrumors G3
Jun 13, 2016
8,169
8,720
To clarify, the frame im upgrading is a 5,1 mid 2012. The 12-core tray has 3.43 gz processors. The frame it came from most recently was a 4,1 but the tray had to have been from a newer machine. It DOES run, but the fans go full blast. So the fan issue is the only thing not working right.

Check the SMC version.

This is a correct one:



This is a mismatch example (1.39f11 backplane with 1.39f5 CPU tray):



Mismatched SMC will make the fans go full RPM, full time. This can't be corrected, updated or software controlled.
 
  • Like
Reactions: EAguitarshop

krakman

macrumors regular
Dec 3, 2009
244
239
To clarify, the frame im upgrading is a 5,1 mid 2012. The 12-core tray has 3.43 gz processors. The frame it came from most recently was a 4,1 but the tray had to have been from a newer machine. It DOES run, but the fans go full blast. So the fan issue is the only thing not working right.

Its what TSIALex said :

early 2009 backplanes and CPU trays have SMC 1.39f5, mid-2010/mid-2012 have SMC 1.39f11. SMC can't be read, dumped, updated, upgraded. So, it's immutable.

the 2009 mac pro is a 4.1 and 2010/2012 are 5.1. You can upgrade the computer's Boot firmware but you cannot upgrade the SMC firmware.

Only solution is to fix/replace your old 2009 4.1 backplane or sell the CPU tray and buy a 2010/2012 cpu tray.
 

EAguitarshop

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2019
8
0
Corvallis, OR USA
Screen Shot 2019-04-02 at 3.34.47 AM.png
I'm showing ignorance with this... There was a 12-core (dual processor) tray back in 2009? I got the impression that the guy had upgraded the tray from some other system. Now (running with the quad core tray) I have the above specs.
When I put the 12-core tray in, it's different. I"ll either find the screensave or swap 'em again so I can post it.
Not understanding... you're saying that the tray was from a 2009 somehow? If so, I should sell off that tray for a 2012 and put the faster processors in the 2012 and then it's good?
[doublepost=1554201687][/doublepost]Again, not using the 2009. Using the 2012 5,1
 

tsialex

macrumors G3
Jun 13, 2016
8,169
8,720
View attachment 829974 I'm showing ignorance with this... There was a 12-core (dual processor) tray back in 2009? I got the impression that the guy had upgraded the tray from some other system. Now (running with the quad core tray) I have the above specs.
When I put the 12-core tray in, it's different. I"ll either find the screensave or swap 'em again so I can post it.
Not understanding... you're saying that the tray was from a 2009 somehow? If so, I should sell off that tray for a 2012 and put the faster processors in the 2012 and then it's good?
Your screenshot show a mid-2010/mid-2012 CPU tray with a mid-2010/mid-2012 backplane. Serial number show that is mid-2012 Mac Pro. No SMC mismatch, normal fans. BootROM is already upgraded to the current version, 141.0.0.0.0.

Now, install the dual processor tray and check the SMC version.

You can upgrade 2009 dual CPU trays to 12-core too, a lot of people do it.
 
Last edited:

EAguitarshop

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2019
8
0
Corvallis, OR USA
Screen Shot 2019-04-02 at 4.39.00 AM.png
Your screenshot show a mid-2010/mid-2012 CPU tray with a mid-2010/mid-2012 backplane. Serial number show that is mid-2012 Mac Pro. No SMC mismatch, normal fans. BootROM is already upgraded to the current version, 141.0.0.0.0.

Now, install the dual processor tray and check the SMC version.

You can upgrade 2009 dual CPU trays to 12-core too, a lot of people do it.
[doublepost=1554205986][/doublepost]Yep, you're right. Mismatch. But I imagine you guys knew that already.:/ . I was a bit slow in the uptake but I've got it now. Was stuck on the false premise that the seller had put a newer tray in. Obrigado, tsialex and krakman! Now I'm on the hunt for a barebones 2010-2012 dual tray... because it really is a rocket when it's on 12 cores! Thanks again!
 

tsialex

macrumors G3
Jun 13, 2016
8,169
8,720
View attachment 829975
[doublepost=1554205986][/doublepost]Yep, you're right. Mismatch. But I imagine you guys knew that already.:/ . I was a bit slow in the uptake but I've got it now. Was stuck on the false premise that the seller had put a newer tray in. Obrigado, tsialex and krakman! Now I'm on the hunt for a barebones 2010-2012 dual tray... because it really is a rocket when it's on 12 cores! Thanks again!
It will be a lot cheaper to just buy a 2009 backplane.

Dual CPU trays are $400 or more, 2009 backplane you can get for as little as $50 + shipping on eBay, just search for some days, you will find a bargain (compared to the price of the dual CPU tray).
 

EAguitarshop

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2019
8
0
Corvallis, OR USA
Yeah, I'm seeing the trays for $300 but still.. when you say backplane your'e referring to the motherboard behind everything else? Is the data path any faster in the 2012?
 

tsialex

macrumors G3
Jun 13, 2016
8,169
8,720
Yeah, I'm seeing the trays for $300 but still.. when you say backplane your'e referring to the motherboard behind everything else? Is the data path any faster in the 2012?
Backplane is the correct name for the main logic board.

Early-2009 and mid-2010/mid-2012 backplanes are identical in every way, besides the SMC, same speed. After you upgrade an early-2009 backplane to MP5,1 firmware, it's the same, except the SMC version.

If you put both side-by-side, you only can identify the MP4,1 from the MP5,1 reading the serial number label.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: EAguitarshop

w1z

Contributor
Aug 20, 2013
591
406
There's also the issue of the delidded CPUs with the 2009 trays which you will have to lid again if you are keen on the 2010/2012 CPU trays and I am guessing you don't have the original IHS (integrated heat spreaders).. so yeah, as tsialex recommended, better to go with a 2009 backplane.

One other option would be to put the 2012 quad-core and 2009 12-core trays including CPUs up for sale and purchase a 5,1 (2010/2012) tray with 2 X5690 CPUs to use with your working 2012 backplane. This way you'll get to keep/have an original mid-2012 which will sell for more than a converted 2009 to 2010/12.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tsialex

Bubalight

macrumors member
Apr 22, 2015
38
18
If you decide to buy the 2009 backplane make sure you get one from someone who has already upgraded it to the 5,1 firmware otherwise you would need to do a difficult and potentially dangerous CPU swap down to an X5500 CPU in order to boot it to flash it to the 5,1 firmware in order to get it to boot with your X5690 CPU dual tray.
 

tsialex

macrumors G3
Jun 13, 2016
8,169
8,720
If you decide to buy the 2009 backplane make sure you get one from someone who has already upgraded it to the 5,1 firmware otherwise you would need to do a difficult and potentially dangerous CPU swap down to an X5500 CPU in order to boot it to flash it to the 5,1 firmware in order to get it to boot with your X5690 CPU dual tray.
He has a single CPU tray, so this is a no issue.
 

EAguitarshop

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 2, 2019
8
0
Corvallis, OR USA
Epilogue:
Many thanks!!!
Hardware Overview:



Model Name: Mac Pro

Model Identifier: MacPro5,1

Processor Name: 6-Core Intel Xeon

Processor Speed: 3.46 GHz

Number of Processors: 2

Total Number of Cores: 12

L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB

L3 Cache (per Processor): 12 MB

Memory: 32 GB

Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B03

SMC Version (system): 1.39f5

SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
 
Last edited:
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.