Mid-2012 with Samsung 830 SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mf22, Sep 8, 2012.

1. mf22 macrumors newbie

I'm about to make a major purchase and would appreciate some input. I'm about to buy a new mid-2012 13" mbp and going to get an ssd (most likely samsung 830) to replace my hdd. This is my first time upgrading to an ssd so I'm not quite sure the setup I want. Options:

1) Get a 128 (or 256) gb ssd and move the 500 gb hdd to the optibay

2) Get a 512 gb ssd and keep the optical drive

3) Should I upgrade with apple to 8 gb RAM or should I go out of market to 16 gb? What is the most reliable RAM I can throw in?

I kind of like having the optical drive so I'm not quite sure the advantage of the double drives (besides the obvious of more memory, which could be solved by going with the 512 gb ssd).

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. MarkCooz macrumors 6502a

For me I'd get at least a 256GB SSD, and replace your Optical drive with that.
    If you have a 500GB/750GB 7200RPM keep that for media files/games/videos etc.. If you really need the Disk Drive, get a 512GB SSD. You'll be set i suppose.

It's gonna be a great combo
    Also don't wasted your money on 8GB with Apple. Look on Amazon. I bought my girlfriend a 16GB KIT for her MBP for about $60 shipping included (I'm a prime member)

3. clyde2801 macrumors 601

clyde2801

RAM and HDD are both user serviceable parts, (meaning replacing them does not void your Applecare warranty as long as you don't break something else in the install) the optical drive is not. Applecare doesn't cover any 3rd party components themselves or any problems caused by them.

The conventional wisdom is that you should place your notebook back to stock configuration before taking it in for repair to prevent the genius from blaming any problem on the user replaced parts.

If you're going to crack open the case anyway, you may as well get 16gb of ram since you can buy that cheaper than what Apple charges for 8gb.