Mid 2014 MBP 15 vs the newest MBP 15?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MSFT, Aug 17, 2016.

  1. MSFT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    #1
  2. keysofanxiety, Aug 17, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2016

    keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    It's the same Mac still shipping. Last update for the 15" rMBP was 29th July, 2014. So there isn't a difference in terms of hardware.

    EDIT: See post below, apologies for misinforming.
     
  3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    The GPU in the 2015 model is faster. The ForceTouch trackpad is pretty slick.

    What are you going to be using the rMBP for? If either meet your needs, then buy the cheapest one.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 17, 2016 ---
    The 15" rMBP was updated in May of 2015. It was a minor update, but it did receive a faster GPU, CPU and an update to include the ForceTouch trackpad.
     
  4. MSFT thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    #4
    It will basically be a lawyer computer. Low density stuff. MS Word, Excel, PPT, Outlook plus several tabs open in Safari. But I want the 15" screen, so whatever hardware I get will be overkill.

    I also do what we'll call day-trading, and would like to have Thinkorswim and Trader Workstation open and running alongside whatever else I'm doing. I'm on a 2010 MBP with a Core 2 Duo and those two programs alone use about 35% of my CPU on average.
     
  5. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #5
    Sorry OP … complete brainfart on my part. Thank you for correcting me T5.
     
  6. Schranke macrumors 6502

    Schranke

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #6
    Both will handle every thing just fine. As for the 2 programs you mentioned, both the 2014 and 2015 is well above system requirements. and i see that the 2014 you link to comes with 16GB of ram which will help a lot if you have many things open at once (looked like the 2 trade programs would like to have around 3GB in total when running)
     
  7. ErnstStavroBlohard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    #7
    2014 can install Win 7 via Boot Camp; 2015 cannot.
     
  8. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #8
    Be careful when buying anything "Geek Squad Certified".

    "Geek Squad" are a bunch of potatoheads.
     

Share This Page