Mid-2015 MacBook Pro Vs. Mid-2012 MacBook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bradPiano, May 24, 2015.

1. bradPiano macrumors member

I'm a developer who's been very pleased with the workhorse that my 2012 13" MacBook Air has become over the course of my ownership. Recently, though, I'm starting to find a tipping point in what the machine is capable of.

Running it hard 15 hours a day and starting to get into heavier development (mostly web design at the start of it's life and growing into HTML5 gaming and some fairly intensive Xcode Mac App development), I'm starting to experience issues I attribute to heavy wear/tear coupled with tech bottlenecks: random shut-downs when I've got a ton of apps/browsers going on, a battery that needs 'serviced', and loosening keyboard keys (several pop off if struck too roughly or off-centered.

Though the Air is still perfectly usable in most circumstances, especially hooked up to an external display in clamshell mode, I can't help but wonder if I'm limiting my potential with my current setup. I had been keeping my eye on the 2015 MacBook Pros this year, awaiting a refresh in hopes of upgrading both screen real-estate/resolution (my eyes would thank me) and reliability for running dev-heavy apps and handling the process of browser games.

My question is, for those with experience with both the Macbook Air and the Macbook Pro, are the latest updates worthy of consideration for upgrading from a 2012-era Air? My primary focuses are on web-based html5 games development, audio recording/production in Logic, and Xcode Mac/iOS with some light Drupal development. I've heard a lot of criticism with the seemingly marginal updates. Would I see drastic benefits with the faster ssd and dedicated gpu?

2. Cuniac macrumors 6502a