Middle 13" & Base 15"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Kirito, Feb 3, 2014.

1. Kirito macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

So I decided to create an account just to start up this thread, because I'm still having trouble deciding after reading many threads on Macrumors.

So I'll be getting a new laptop for University soon. I'm in my final year and I'm studying Design/Photography, so I'll be preparing for my graduation exhibition all year. I also have a pretty big music collection (around 60GB) and I don't game. If I ever decide to play a little games, my aging PC sort of gets the job done. This new laptop will sort of be a desktop replacement. I handle a lot of large RAW files and from time to time, I do a bit of Graphic Design-related tasks (pamphlet designs, book designs, etc.). Programs I use are the usual Adobe products: Lightroom, Photoshop, InDesign and sometimes Illustrator.

My dilemma is basically deciding between the 13" or base 15" MBP haswell. As much as I would love to own the high end 15", it's just way too expensive for me right now. I currently own a 2010 15" MBP with the faulty graphics card/motherboard issue. Before it died, I think it was sufficient enough for my needs. Based on that, I'm assuming the 13" graphics will be okay. But that's just me assuming, I haven't exactly used it so I don't know for sure. I'm leaning towards the middle model for the 13". I know the size will probably take some time for me to get used to, but I'll probably hook it up to an external monitor when working at home.