Migrate from Aperture Vault & Export Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Average Pro, Feb 14, 2015.

  1. Average Pro, Feb 14, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2015

    Average Pro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #1
    In preparation to migrate (not sure to what at this time), and scheduled back-ups, I wanted to know if you could migrate from an Aperture Vault to Lightroom? Or do you first have to restore a Vault into a Library, then perform the migration (export)? If this is the case, it would seem better to make a back up of the Library as opposed to a Vault.

    Another question is that when I perform:
    1) Export -> Versions -> images not exported as RAW, but changes made to all images are saved.
    2) Export -> Originals -> saves RAW, but not RAW image changes (touch up, crop, exposure, etc). However, if a filter was applied and the image was converted to a TIFF, it will export that image as a TIFF

    The issue is that there are many,many images that I made adjustments and are still RAW. Is there a way to identify these images as opposed to going through an entire library manually? The plan is to export everything as "Originals", then having identified the RAW images with edits, export those as TIFF.

    Thank you,
     
  2. maflynn, Feb 14, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2015

    maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    You cannot migrate from the vault, that is simply a proprietary backup of the Library. Adobe has come out with a plugin that exports your Aperture Library into Lightroom.

    See Adobe's blog on this
     
  3. viorelgn macrumors 6502

    viorelgn

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Location:
    Romania
    #3
    Luckily, there is an easy mechanism within Aperture to move your photos to an external hard drive. From within Aperture select the files you wish to move. You can select multiple projects. Then go to the File menu and select “Relocate Masters”. Then select the destination folder. By default this will save the files by project name on to the destination disk. One thing to keep in mind is that if you use Time Machine or the Aperture Vault to backup your images these will not back up the images on the external hard drive. Once the images are moved to the external hard drive, the previews will still be available in the Library even when the external hard drive is unplugged. You can also make catalog or metadata changes to the files. You will not be able to develop or make adjustments to the image. You also cannot export or share the file without the external hard drive plugged in. That is it. Although not entirely intuitive, moving photos to an external hard drive from Aperture is not too difficult once you learn how.
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    The latest version of Capture One also has an "import Aperture library" option - have a look as that as it may preserve many of the library records (keywords, edits etc), you may want.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    The OP is not looking to move or relocate the Masters, he's looking to transition from Aperture to Lightroom and asked how does he get his images out of Aperture to Lightroom. Moving them to an external drive does not provide the help he requires AFAIK.

    Plus if he uses a managed library, its much easier to just drag and drop the Library to an external drive. That's what I did when I was on Aperture (but have since moved to Lightroom).
     
  6. robgendreau macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #6
    Yes, convert back to library.

    And the Adobe Lightroom Importer plugin is an importer INTO LR, not an exporter TO LR. There is ApertureExporter, which is an EXPORTER FROM Aperture, and it has some advantages over Adobe's importer. And a demo. So check it out; it seems to have advantages for those who need to export adjusted images into TIFFs or JPEGs.

    You can easily filter images within Aperture to find all sorts of stuff. Try using "Adjustments" with the value "are applied." You might need others, but you should be able to find stuff.
     
  7. Average Pro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #7
    Adjustments Value?

    I tried to locate the "adjustments value" within Aperture you suggested, but no luck. Can you direct me to it?

    Thank you,


     
  8. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #8
    Have you used it? How well does it work?
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Yes, it worked well enough to bring my images over. Better then manually bringing them into LR
     
  10. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    Just keeping tabs on this post so it's bookmarked for me later should I decide to leave Aperture. Still need to finish organizing all my 35mm negatives and family photos. Maybe by then, we'll see what Apple has planned for Photos (ie. will they include features such as metatagging etc... Everything right now is speculative because it's a Beta).

    If it's not, then LR or CaptureOne it shall be!
     

Share This Page