Migrating a RAID array to larger disks

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by monkeybagel, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have a 5,1 that has three 2TB rotational drives running in RAID 0, and have pretty much exhausted that space, and it's time to upgrade the array to something larger. I am thinking of the best way to do this, and so far the best way seems to be to make a Disk Image on an external 1GbE drive (or USB as last resort) and compress the contents of the array to that image, swap out the disks and recreate the array and restore the contents. I don't have USB3 (yet) on this machine. Can anyone come up with a better more efficient/reliable solution?

    Thanks
     
  2. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #2
    First question:
    1. Is the data text, random documents - or photo and/or video data
      1. If text/random, be prepared for obscenely long compression times (although it helps a lot to get a multi-threaded compression utility).
      2. If photo or video, be prepared for obscenely long compression times and output files that are roughly the same size as the input files.
    Second question:
    Never mind, the first question covered it. Compression will not help you.​

    If I were in this predicament, what I would do is:
    Then, upgrade the array and copy the data back. Put the 8TB USB drive on the shelf for six months (or forever) - you have a full point-in-time backup.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 19, 2016 ---
     
  3. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #3
    I was just going to say buy a USB 3 card & 8TB disk but it's already been suggested. This is far & away the easiest way of achieving what you want. You don't mention what if anything you use currently for backup. If it's nothing then I suggest you get another 8TB disk & start doing backups.
     
  4. monkeybagel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Thanks for the reply. I was considering the Seagate Enterprise Capacity 8TB drives for the internal drives, and have a few 5TB drives USB3 setting around. I wanted to avoid dividing the data up onto different drives and copying it all back over. Most of the data is large vmdk files that do not need to be backed up. The data that does need to be backed up is going across 1GbE to a Time Machine backup. Thanks for the suggestions.

    Any reservations on the Seagate drives?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 19, 2016 ---
    On a side note - it looks like Best Buy has them for the same price. Now to narrow down the right USB3 card...

    Now the question is - with one 16x lane PCIe open, does that get a future SSD or the USB3 card and four SATA drives in the factory bays...

    Decisions decisions!
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    KT4004 should be the right card on budget.

    Anyway, you said that the array consist of 3 HDD, so the 4th bay is empty? Or for OS? If it's not for booting, it's very easy to put the 8T HDD in there and just clone everything to the new HDD.
     
  6. monkeybagel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    Bay 1 is an Apple (Samsung OEM) 512 SSD. Both optical bays are filled with SuperDrives. I would like to get a good USB3 card that can charge the current iPads efficiently and provide good data rates. I don't think I will have a need for eSATA. I have it on a few devices and it's never used. Would not mind having a USB3 RAID certified controller. I intend on keeping this computer for a while, hoping Apple doesn't prematurely drop OS X support early.

    Stock it was a 12-core 3.06 with 512 SSD and 2TB rotational and an ATI 5870, and two LED Cinema Displays. I added two identical Hitachi 2TB drives, increased the RAM to 128GB, installed a GTX980Ti and that's about it. Will probably add a landscape 24" monitor to the setup soon, as well as the items listed (larger hard disks, USB3, etc.). I also have Windows 10 Enterprise booting GPT/EFI off of the SSD as well.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 19, 2016 ---
    After thinking, I could install OS X on a USB Flash Drive and use that for creating the RAID and copying files.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    If you want to charge USB device as well, I think you need the Sonnet Allegro Pro USB 3.0 card, not many cards can give out 2.0A for charging device.
     
  8. monkeybagel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    Does the RAID capability advertised by some cause an impact in performance or capability if used with a RAID enclosure, or only with multiple single USB3 drives?
     
  9. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #9
    The "Enterprise Capacity" drives look good from the Seagate Website.

    I would not recommend the Seagate "Archive 8TB" for most uses. They are shingled drives, and don't have good performance for small random writes. They are great for archiving large files, or mostly read loads.
     

Share This Page