Migrating Bootcamp partition to new HDD (as the only OS on it)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by masi0, Mar 29, 2016.

  1. masi0 macrumors member

    masi0

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Location:
    Warsaw
    #1
    You do everything on your risk - I am not taking responsibility for any issues or data loss

    I had bootcamp installed next to my OSX on single HDD in my MacPro
    After I moved to SSD I decided to use old HDD for Windows only

    So, you need:
    Buy WinClone 5
    Paragon NTFS trial

    1. Backup Bootcamp partition using WinClone to image on system drive (or any other drive with enough space)
    2. Format drive of your choice (the one to migrate bootcamp as single system) to be GPT and FAT and name it let's say WINDOWS
    3. with Paragon format hdd WINDOWS to NTFS
    4. reboot to recovery
    5. use terminal to disable SIP: csrutil disable; reboot
    6. boot to OSX again
    7. restore bootcamp image with WinClone to WINDOWS drive
    8. use WinClone to expand WINDOWS drive (once restore is finished) - otherwise you will see old disk size!
    9. enable SIP by booting to recovery and use terminal: csrutil enable; reboot

    Enjoy
     
  2. ghislain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #2
    I am not sure it will work as the file system has changed and will no longer be recognized by windows. Perhaps it may work after repairing windows with the installation DVD...
     
  3. masi0 thread starter macrumors member

    masi0

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Location:
    Warsaw
    #3
    I was surprised it will work but it did. Windows asked to reboot for check disk but that was all.
     
  4. Mike Boreham, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016

    Mike Boreham macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    You did not need the Paragon trial to create the NTFS partition...Bootcamp Assistant can do it and the Winclone restore instructions say format the partition MS-DOS (FAT32).

    Winclone support say that the Paragon NTFS for Mac driver and Winclone are not compatible, but I guess you made the image before installing the Paragon driver so that was why the restore worked OK.

    Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 22.10.40.png
     

Share This Page