Migrating Bootcamp Windows Image to Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Lumpydog, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. Lumpydog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #1
    Hello:

    Just bought a new MacBookAir to replace my Blackbook. Used migration assistant to move my Blackbook apps and settings to the Air using a Time Machine backup from my Time Capsule - wirelessly. Two hours later (not terrible) and I'm using my Air with all my apps and setting - fantastic.

    Question: My Blackbook also has a Bootcamp partition running Windows - is there a way to take that image and migrate it to my MB Air? I'd rather not have to purchase the Superdrive and re-install/setup the Windows OS on my Air....

    Thanks,

    Lumpy
     
  2. neilhart macrumors 6502

    neilhart

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area - Fremont
    #2
    This is an interesting problem.

    Disk space on the AIR would be a consideration and the size of your current BootCamp (the used space, not the current partititon size).

    The probability of success is higher if the MB is Core 2 Duo.

    The process I would use is:

    WinClone the BootCamp partition on the MB with options one and three checked in WinClone.

    Move this image to an external USB drive.

    On the AIR, run BootCamp Assistant to create the partition. Exit the Assistant at the "install now or later" prompt.

    WinClone to restore the BootCamp image from the external drive to the the new BootCamp partition.

    Restart the AIR with the option key depressed, select the Windows icon, and expect a "blue screen" where Windows is checking the file system, upon reboot, again use the option key depressed and select the Windows icon.
    This time you should get into Windows and have another prompt that you should reboot because Windows has finished installing your new hardware. Reboot into Window and you maybe good to go.

    This may or may not work for any number of reasons. If you try it, please post the results.

    You normally can not move Windows from one environment to another unless the hardware is identical (or almost identical). Exceptions are processor speed (but same technology), amount of memory, and video cards.

    And you may need to reinstall the Apple BootCamp Drivers.

    Neil
     
  3. Lumpydog thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #3
    Hmmm

    Neil:

    Thanks for the reply. I figured Winclone would be the way to go - and also figured I'd need to run the bootcamp installer in Windows (to get the Air drivers installed).

    I do not have an external USB drive... The cost of one is close enough to the external Superdrive that I'll likely bite the bullet and just get the Superdrive....

    Lumpy
     
  4. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    It's always good to have an extra USB hard disk for back up. Why would you purchase a Macbook Air if your budget obviously can't afford a superdrive?

    EDIT: I don't think your drivers would work properly with the Air, if you installed the drivers from the leopard disk onto your old computer it will only have the old drivers, not the new ones needed by the Air, so obviously you will need the superdrive.
     
  5. Lumpydog thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #5
    Jimmy:

    You "obviously" don't know me or how Windows works.

    1) I have a 160GB backup disk - it's firewire only. I'd rather not go buy another external hard drive just to have a USB connect. I also have a 1TB Time Capsule - again, no need to buy more storage at this point.

    2) Um, where was it so "obvious" that I cannot afford a Superdrive? I can afford one - I don't want one - big difference. I own a Mac Pro, two iMacs and a Macbook (it is being replaced with the Air) - all with Superdrives that will work just fine with the Air via remote disk. On my Macbook - I've used its superdrive once - to install Windows for use with Bootcamp.

    3) I also have a Windows PC - once I boot into Windows on the MB Air, I can share out that PC's drive to the Air and install the Air's drivers. So, no Superdrive necessary - obviously...

    At this point, rather than screwing around and trying to get a Windows image to work on hardware it was not originally installed on, I'll just pickup a Superdrive - unfortunately need Windows from time to time when I travel.

    Lumpy
     

Share This Page