Migrating data from 3 computers down to 1 MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ymerej1881, Apr 15, 2009.

1. ymerej1881 macrumors newbie

I could really use some advice on this one...I'm fairly computer savvy, but still consider myself a mac newbie.

Currently I wear a few different hats, and have a computer for each one. I've used a sony notebook for years, and that got me through college and I continue to use it as I work on my Master's degree (frequent portability is huge here). I also use that to do some remote shooting with my Canon SLR in my home studio, and do photo editing (photoshop 7) on it for an online company run by a good friend.

When I go into work, I often migrate raw files over to a Mac Pro that has CS3 and do my editing from there, but I'm only in the office 1 day a week.

I'm also a youth pastor. When I'm working at church I use an 08 imac for video editing, iweb design (if you can call it design...seeing as they do all the work for you!) and I run ProPresenter all the time.

I'm planning on combining everything I do down to one macbook pro to preserve some of my sanity as soon as I have the budget money put aside for it (probably in the next 2-3 months).

My question is, how do I best combine all of the data that I have spread all over the place?

My company owns the CS3 license for the tower I run off of, but it would take some digging to find that...can I just migrate it over?

Is there a specific order I should do things in (mac pro first, then pc, then imac?)

Thanks!

2. darngooddesign macrumors G3

Nope, best you can do is contact Adobe for the info.

Just approach it one aspect at a time. First your emails and then your data. I dobn't know how extensive your inbox is, but tossing old emails is good for the soul. I don't know how you would migrate several separate accounts over to just one. Worst case just forward the important ones to your new computer.