Migrating from Mac pro to Hackintosh is it possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by zeblazed, Sep 14, 2014.

  1. zeblazed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #1
    I own the Mac pro cylinder and I'd like to know if its possible to clone my hard drive to a Hackintosh.
     
  2. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #2
    Nop. Hardware is different and unsupported by Apple. Surely you will have many kernel panics or compatibility problem. OS X is made for Apple machines.
     
  3. zeblazed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #3
    I was just viewing this video

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iwbLkCAbwU

    The hardware can be bought by itself.

    Umm I'm not sure why you would say that since It has been done I'd just like to know if I can migrate my programs and data to one. Do you have any experience with building a hackintosh?
     
  4. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #4
    Yes, i have.

    You need see many forums, apply many patches, tricks, etc a hackintosh never work as a native apple machine the incompatibility problems, kernel panics and app crash always be there trust me.

    now, why do you need a hackintosh?
     
  5. zeblazed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #5
    Mostly because of it's gpu performance. I do a lot of video editing and use graphic intensive programs. I've tried calling Apple in order to upgrade my d300 gpu's to d700's but they aren't willing to help me. They keep telling me no on the upgrades even though I'm willing to pay the price.

    I thought that building a hackintosh would be a good alternative since I can replace the parts myself and service the machine if need be in the future.
     
  6. BenTrovato macrumors 68020

    BenTrovato

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Been running a Hackintosh for a while. If you follow the guides and buy the parts that work, it's very easy. Obviously not as easy as buying right out of the box and you don't get Apple support. My hackintosh is actually the best performing computer that I've owned that runs os x.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 123.png
      123.png
      File size:
      71.6 KB
      Views:
      240
  7. zeblazed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #7
    Interesting! can you post your specs? what would be a good x79 board?
     
  8. BenTrovato macrumors 68020

    BenTrovato

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Well I posted my about this mac screenshots :p
    I'm not really sure on the z79's since I'm running a z77 myself but check out the buyer's guide section of the forums for parts that are going to work will with a setup. Also this forum is pretty good with members helping and answering questions. You probably won't get as much traction on MR.
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/441-building-customac-buyer-s-guide-august-2014.html
     
  9. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #9
    you made a bad choice with the GPU, your best option was to buy nMP with D700 or old Mac Pro, aux 5.25" power supply for installation here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1714592 and 2 powerful GPU.

    precisely the problem with the new Mac Pro is not flexibility for upgrade.
     
  10. zeblazed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #10
    Going to find a way! calling the apple store to see If they'd do it.
     
  11. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #11
    Now, you can build a hackintosh but you'll be a forum slave.
     
  12. austinpike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #12
    Easiest way to do a Hackintosh at this point is the Quo motherboard. Based on a Gigabyte board. Sometimes shows up on Amazon for less.

    It is a bit spendy for a z77 chipset, but you get an mATX form factor, Thunderbolt and Firewire. Download a "third party" BIOS flash and after that OSX installs with no kexts or other modifications required. They got off to a rocky start on kickstarter so there is some ill will out there, but the product has been shipping now for over a year.

    issues:
    • Thunderbolt is not hot-swappable.
    • Audio tends to "break" with OS updates but it is an easy fix.
    • Occasionally doesn't want to boot beyond the BIOS splash screen. Hold reset/power button, boots fine. This is a bit weird but hasn't really been a problem.


    I have yet to see a kernel panic on mine. I've also built two Gigabyte-based hacks, which were fine, but the Quo was dead easy. I wouldn't guarantee you could clone your MacPro drive directly and have it boot, but it just might work.

    http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Z77MX-QUO-AOS
    http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/285920-new-os-x-compatible-motherboard-quo/
     
  13. zeblazed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    #13
    Thank you very much I appreciate the motherboard suggestion. I'm currently pricing the Hackintosh out and didn't know about this option! thnx :D
     
  14. Tutor, Sep 15, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2014

    Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #14
    The Nth degree of irony - Mac users are already Hackintoshing their Macs.

    And I'm doing it too. A MacPro and a Hackintosh aren't mutually exclusive.

    An irony is that if you own that Mac Pro long enough, you may likely consider Hackintoshing it just to get the latest Mac OS to run on it [see, e.g., http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1740775&highlight=chameleon ] and, if you're lucky, skillful and desirous of more performance from that Mac Pro, along the way you may have learned some upgrading skills akin to those involved in building a Hackintosh [ see, e.g., http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=745426 and http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1505726 ]. Importantly, my experience has been that initial hardware installations are easier than upgrades.

    Migrating from Mac pro to Hackintosh is it possible? Definitely possible. So whether you take this long term route (forced on Mac users because of deprecation and limited Apple sanctioned upgrades) and Hackintosh your MacPro or roll your own separate Hackintosh now, just make sure that you've stored your favorite coded delights on a removable drive with Time Machine. To be both specific and sure, the hacking precedes program/file restoration.

    I've heard that the Quo and I know from much experience that Gigabyte motherboards are compatible with multiple OSes.
     
  15. OddyOh macrumors regular

    OddyOh

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    Regina, SK, Canada
    #15
    I'm no expert, but I've done a little Hackintoshing. If it were me, I'd build the Hackintosh with a fresh OSX installation, create an admin account on it, then connect to your Mac Pro (or connect its Time Machine backup drive) and use the Migration Assistant to import your user account to the Hackintosh.

    Hope that made sense...it's late here.

    A straight clone of the drive won't work for booting the Hackintosh, because of all the kext files and other stuff the Hackintosh needs to run properly (like I said, I'm no expert).

    Best of luck. I spent tons of time hacking my PC to get Lion to work a few years ago...ended up buying a refurb'd Mac Mini. I would argue the Hackintosh community actually boosts Mac sales.

    That said, my friend's 2009 Mac Pro has recently started to act up, so we're exploring Hackintosh options once again, since a Mac Mini update is unknown, and the nMP is perhaps too expensive for his needs (and he doesn't want an iMac, he already has two monitors).
     
  16. Tutor, Sep 19, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2014

    Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #16
    Though it may have been late there, you are 100% accurate, very specific, but downplaying the value of your expertise. I've done it as you recommend and would advise that it be done as you recommend. The phrases "favorite coded delights" and "program/file" that I used originally mean user installed applications that one uses and finds worthy of continued use and associated user created files from those applications. I like your specification better, however.
     

Share This Page