Migrating installed programs from mac to new mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Petulka, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. Petulka macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #1
    Hey,
    is it possible to migrate all my installed programs and saved files from 15 rMBP to new 13 rMBP? All I have is one external HDD and I don't want to bother with setting up everything again. Could someone answer or point me somewhere?
    Thanks
     
  2. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    You can restore the old rMBP backup to the new rMBP.
     
  3. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #3
    Do a Time Machine backup of the old machine to your external drive. Connect the drive to your new computer. If it's brand new and you're setting it up for the first time, then just follow the prompts and it will import everything from Time Machine.

    Otherwise just run the Migration Assitant App (in the Utilities folder inside the Applications folder) on the new machine. This has worked really well for me on my last two upgrades. Moved everything, all my files, programs, settings, even the arrangement of icons on the desktop. And it is smart enough to know which system files to move from the old machine and which system files to leave alone on the new machine. ;)
     
  4. esskay macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #4
    Do those procedures work if your old machine is on an older OS (eg Lion on a cMBP) going to a new rMBP? TIA
     
  5. makinao macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    #5
    I did a time machine restore from my old Snow Leopard Macbook White 2009 to my newer Mountain Lion 2012 MBP 15. Just followed the prompts and everything (files, apps, settings) were perfectly transferred. It even showed the few apps which would not work in ML.
     
  6. Petulka thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #6
    Okay, so it's as easy as just backing up with time machine? Does the external HDD have to be empty and formated or can I have some files on there?
     

Share This Page