Migrating Old MBP to New MBP without firewire

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ktraphagen, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. ktraphagen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #1
    I just received my new 15.4" MBP and want to transfer my documents, etc from my old 15.4" MBP. However, the old one only has a 400 Firewire and the new one only has an 800 Firewire and everybody seems to be out of 800/400 cables (including the Apple Store). I asked the Apple Store for alternative suggestions and they said to just order it online. But I couldn't find a place that had them in stock and could ship quickly. Besides, I want to set up the new laptop so I can use it! What other alternatives do I have for transferring files directly from one laptop to the other. Thanks,

    Karyn
     
  2. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #2
    Do you have the old one backed up via Time Machine or another external HDD USB backup?
     
  3. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
  4. T10HJS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    #4
    I got mine from eBay was only a few quid and arrived in 2 days.
    Or as advised above you can do it via ethernet or over a network.
     
  5. ktraphagen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #5
    I do have a Time Machine backup, but it also uses a 400 Firewire.

    I will try the ethernet option. Do I need a specific type of ethernet cable or can I just use the one I use when connecting to the network at work? Do I start the old laptop in target mode with the ethernet connection or can I use the migration assistant with that?

    Thanks
     
  6. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    Target Disk Mode is stictly Firewire.

    IIRC I just grabbed whichever Ethernet cable I needed and used Migration Assistant. But first I Googled it.
     
  7. B.A. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    #7
    Use the ethernet cable and Bonjour via Cyberduck. Just did the same thing from my iMac to my new MBP and it worked great.
     
  8. T10HJS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    #8
    hmm i thought you may have needed to use a crossover cable if you were doing a direct link up? but normal Ethernet if connecting to a Switch or Router then to the other Mac.
     
  9. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #9
    I did this for my friend last week, she upgraded to the new aluminum macbook with no firewire port. I just used a regular ethernet cable from her old macbook to the new one and ran migration assistant. it was fast and easy.
     

Share This Page